(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 
Troubles Alimentaires non Autrement Specifies (ED-NOS)

L'élément le plus commun de TOUS les troubles alimentaires est la présence inhérente d'une faible estime de soi

Avoir un trouble alimentaire "non spécifié autrement" peut signifier beaucoup de choses… Cela peut vouloir dire que la victime souffre d'anorexie mais qu'elle a encore ses règles. Cela peut vouloir dire que la victime a toujours "un poids normal" mais qu'elle souffre malgré tout d'anorexie. Cela peut vouloir dire que la victime montre de comportments anorexiques ainsi que boulimiques (parfois d´signé comme Anorexie-boulimie).

Tout comme il est important de reconnaître que les médecins peuvent commettre des erreurs, il est aussi important de souligner que la prise de conscience des troubles alimentaires ne s'est imposée que très récemment (le 10 dernières années). Les gens, y compris les médecins, confondent souvent les différences réelles entre Anorexie et Boulimie (pour simplifier : l 'anorexique se prive de toute nourriture et le/la boulimique passe par des cycles de crise et de purge) et la plupart du temps ne connaissent rien au sujet des mangeurs compulsifs.

Par exemple, un docteur se base uniquement sur ses manuels de diagnostic et y lit les critères qui définissent une personne comme souffrant d'anorexie. Il constate que sa patiente a utilisé régulièrement des techniques de jeüne, s'estime de façon erronée trop grosse et semble être dure envers elle-même…MAIS elle continue à avoir ses règles (les critères de diagnostic mentionnent qu'il doit y avoir perte du cycle menstruel). Il peut techniquement poser son diagnostic en disant que la patiente a "un trouble alimentaire non spécifié autrement".

Un autre exemple serait celui d'une victime souffrant de crises de boulimie et de purge un fois par semaine, qui se sent trop grosse et deprimée (Les critères de diagnostic mentionnent qu'en moyenne les crises doivent avoir lieu en moyenne au moins deux fois par semaine)

En pratique, dans le premier exemple, la victime souffre d' Anorexie et dans le second de Boulimie. Cliniquement, en se basant sur "le livre de texte", elles souffriraient d' "un trouble alimentaire non spécifié autrement". Dans les deux cas, les victimes souffrent, sont en danger de complications physiques mortelles et doivent toutes les deux faire le choix de guérir.

La chose essentielle à retenir est que les troubles alimentaires, Anorexie, Boulimie, hyperphagie compulsonielle, Binge eating disorder, ainsi que toutes les combinations entre eux (ou tous les autres qui tombent dans la catégorie TANSA), sont TOUS des maladies psychologiques, aucun n'étant plus ou moins sérieuse que les autres. Ils comportent tous des dangers physiques et des complications, ils présentent tous des comportements alimentaires désordonnés, et ils proviennent tous d'une detresse émotionelle comme la faible estime de soi, le besoin d'oublier des sentiments et/ou le stress, le besoin de faire cesser la douleur , la colère ou les gens qui nuisent. En définitive nous souffrons TOUS. Si vous pensez que vous souffrez d'un trouble alimentaire, il est temps de vous aider.


Critères de diagnostic
Ce qui suit est considéré comme "le livre de texte" de la définition des troubles alimentaires non spécifiés autrement afin d'aider les médecins à établir un diagnostic clinique. Il ne représente bien sür pas ce que les victimes ressentent ou expérimentent en vivant avec la maladie. Il est aussi important de souligner que ceci est une définition clinique, et qu'il ne signifie absolument pas que vous n'ëtez ni anorexique ni boulimique (ou une combination des deux appelée anorexie-boulimie). Ceci est une catégorie clinique d'alimentation troublée rédigé pour ceux qui souffrent mais qui ne regroupent pas tous les critères de diagnostic pour un autre désordre spécifique.

Les exemples incluent:

  1. Tous les critères de l'anorexie nerveuse sont rencontrés sauf al disparition des règles
  2. Tous les critères de l'anorexie nerveuse sont rencontrés sauf, malgré une grande perte de poids, le poids de l'individu reste dans les limites du normal
  3. Tous les critères de la boulimie nerveuse sont rencontrés sauf que les crises on lieu avec une fréquence de moins de deux fois par semaine et moins longtemps que trois mois.
  4. Un individu de poids normal qui s'addonne régulièrement à des comportements de compensations inappropiés après avoir mangé de petites quantités de nourriture (par exemple vomissement après avoir consommé deux biscuits)
  5. Un individu qui régulièrement mäche et recrache de grandes quantités d' aliments sans les avaler
  6. Trouble de la compulsion alimentaire (binge eating disorder) : épisodes fréquents de compulsion alimentaiire et absence d'usage régulier de comportements compensatoires caractéristiques be la Boulimie nerveuse


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 

Eating Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (ED-NOS)


The most common element surrounding ALL Eating Disorders is the inherent presence of a low self esteem

Having an "Eating Disorder not Otherwise Specified" can mean a number of things... It can mean the individual suffers from Anorexia but still gets their period; It can mean they may still be an "average healthy weight" but be suffering Anorexia; It can mean the sufferer equally participates in some Anorexic as well as Bulimic behaviors (sometimes referred to as being Bulimirexic).

Just as it is important to remember that doctors can make mistakes, it is also important to keep in mind that it has not been until very recently (in the last 10 years) that awareness on the subject Eating Disorders has really begun to surface. People are frequently confused (including doctors) about the real differences between Anorexia and Bulimia (Anorexia essentially being self-starvation, and Bulimia being defined as going through binge and purge cycles - simply put), and often times know nothing at all about Binge-Eating Disorder.

For example, a doctor relies completely on his diagnostic manuals and reads the criteria to diagnose an individual as having Anorexia. He finds that his patient has regularly practiced self-starvation techniques, thinks of herself unrealistically as overweight, and seems to be hard on herself... BUT she still has her monthly period (the diagnostic criteria states that there must be loss of monthly menstrual cycles). He may technically diagnose the patient as having "An Eating Disorder not Otherwise Specified".

Another example would be that of a person suffering through binge and purge cycles once a week, who feels that they are overweight and who feels depressed. (The diagnostic criteria states that the sufferer must binge and purge, on average, at least twice a week.)

Practically speaking, in the first example the person suffers from Anorexia and the second suffers from Bulimia. Clinically speaking, according to the "text book" they would suffer from "An Eating Disorder not Otherwise Specified". In either case, both people are suffering with an Eating Disorder, both are in danger of potentially deadly physical complications, and both need to make a choice for recovery.

The most important thing to remember is that Eating Disorders, Anorexia, Bulimia, Compulsive Overeating, Binge-Eating Disorder, any combination of them, (or any that fall into the clinical category of EDNOS), are ALL psychological illnesses, none less or more serious than the next. They all have their physical dangers and complications, they all present themselves through an array of disordered eating patterns in one way or another, and they all stem from emotional turmoil such as a low self-esteem, a need to forget feelings and/or stress, a need to block pain, anger and/or people out, and most of all, a need to cope. The bottom line is that we are ALL suffering. If you find you suffer from any Eating Disorder then it's time to reach in to yourself.


Diagnostic Criteria
The following is considered the "text book" definition of an Eating Disorder Not Otherwise Specified, to assist doctors in making a clinical diagnosis... it is in no way representative of what a sufferer feels or experiences in living with an Eating Disorder. It is important to note that this is a Clinical definition, and is in no way meant to say that any sufferer does not struggle, and that the condition is not serious. It is not meant to say you do not have Anorexia or Bulimia (or a combination of both sometimes known as Bulimirexia). This is a clinical category of disordered eating meant for those who suffer but do not meet all the diagnostic criteria for another specific disorder.

Examples Include:

  1. All of the criteria for Anorexia Nervosa are met except the individual has regular menses.
  2. All of the criteria for Anorexia Nervosa are met except that, despite substantial weight loss, the individual's current weight is in the normal range.
  3. All of the criteria for Bulimia Nervosa are met except binges occur at a frequency of less than twice a week or for a duration of less than 3 months.
  4. An individual of normal body weight who regularly engages in inappropriate compensatory behavior after eating small amounts of food (eg, self-induced vomiting after the consumption of two cookies).
  5. An individual who repeatedly chews and spits out, but does not swallow, large amounts of food.
  6. Binge eating disorder; recurrent episodes of binge eating in the absence of the regular use of inappropriate compensatory behaviors characteristic of bulimia nervosa.


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy