Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 
Hyperphagie Compulsionelle

L'élément le plus commun de TOUS les troubles alimentaires est la présence inhérente d'une faible estime de soi

Les gens souffrant d'hyperphagie compulsionelle sont victimes de ce que l'on appelle une "dépendance" à la nourriture, utilisant la nourriture et l'acte de manger comme un moyen de se cacher de leur émotions, de remplir un vide qu'il ressentent en eux-mêmes, un moyen de faire face au stress quotidien et au problèmes de leur vie.

Les gens souffrant de ce trouble alimentaire ont tendence à être en surpoids et sont généralement conscients que leurs habitudes alimentaires sont anormales, mais trouvent peu de réconfort à cause de la tendances dans nos sociétés à "stéreotyper" l'individu en surpoids. Des mots comme "mets-toi simplement au régime" sont dévastateurs sur le plan émotionnel pour une personne souffrant d'hyperphagie compulsionelle, tout comme les "tu n'as qu'à manger" le sont pour une personne anorexique. Une personne souffrant d'hyperphagie compulsionelle a des risques accrus d'attaque cardiaque, d'hypertension, de choléstérol, d'affections rénales, d'arthrite, de détérioration osseuse et d'arrêt cardiaque.

Les hommes et les femmes Hyperphages se cachent parfois derrière leur apparance physique, en usant comme paravent contre la société (commun chez les pesonnes ayant subi des abus sexuels). Ils se sentent coupables de ne "pas être assez bons", honteux d'être gros, et on généralemnt une faible estime d'eux-mêmes. Ils utilisent la nourriture pour faire face à ces sentiments, ce qui ne fait que les conduire dans le cycle de les ressentir dix fois plus et de devoir trouver un moyen de faire face. Avec une faible estime de soi et un besoin constant d'amour et de validation, ces personnes répèteront obsessivement les épisodes de gavage afin d'oublier la douleur et le désir d'affection.

de Tom...

Je suppose qu'il est ironique que je travaille à un hôpital. J'ai été marié à un alcoolique... comment gentil il devrait avoir un penchant simple comme des boissons alcoolisées... vous élasticité il vers le haut et vous récupérez. Mais vous devez manger. Le puits I mangent... quand j'ai faim... quand je suis plein... quand je suis impatient que... quand je suis heureux... quand je suis... bon triste vous ayez l'idée. Nourriture, l'ami qui n'échoue jamais.

Quand j'étais un gosse on m'a formé que la nourriture lui a fait tout mieux. Quand nous étions totalement a cassé mon mom ferait cuire les la plupart. Elle était un conducteur compulsif ainsi je suis devenu un mangeur compulsif.

Chaque régime a échoué. Je suis un lifer sur des observateurs de poids, j'ai été par le système de Nutra. Mais il n'est pas au sujet du poids... qu'il est au sujet de l'incapacité de traiter des sentiments et des émotions... au sujet d'utiliser une cuvette de pâtes ou de livre de m&m's en tant que narcotique pour refouler la douleur.

C'est ce qui est manger avec excès compulsif.

Je pleure parce qu'il me rend de poids excessif et personne ne voit le vrai j' l'intérieur. J'essaye de montrer que les vrais moi et moi pensent que les gens ne m'aiment pas parce que je suis de poids excessif. Un autre crochet 22 ou une chose de poulet et d'oeufs. Je vois que mon fils gagnant le poids et moi affligez-vous. Je veux hors de... mais alors je me rends compte qu'il n'y a aucune dehors... seulement commande... et la commande est plus dure qu'étant dans le notre dehors.


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Overeating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 

Compulsive Overeating


The most common element surrounding ALL Eating Disorders is the inherent presence of a low self esteem

Compulsive Overeating
People suffering with Compulsive Overeating have what is characterized as an "addiction" to food, using food and eating as a way to hide from their emotions, to fill a void they feel inside, and to cope with daily stresses and problems in their lives.

People suffering with this Eating Disorder tend to be overweight, are usually aware that their eating habits are abnormal, but find little comfort because of society's tendency to stereotype the "overweight" individual. Words like, "just go on a diet" are as emotionally devastating to a person suffering Compulsive Overeating as "just eat" can be to a person suffering Anorexia. A person suffering as a Compulsive Overeater is at health risk for a heart attack, high blood-pressure and cholesterol, kidney disease and/or failure, arthritis and bone deterioration, and stroke.

Men and Women who are Compulsive Overeaters will sometimes hide behind their physical appearance, using it as a blockade against society (common in survivors of sexual abuse). They feel guilty for not being "good enough," shame for being overweight, and generally have a very low self-esteem... they use food and eating to cope with these feelings, which only leads into the cycle of feeling them ten-fold and trying to find a way to cope again. With a low self esteem and often constant need for love and validation he/she will turn to obsessive episodes of binging and eating as a way to forget the pain and the desire for affection.

It is important to remember that most Eating Disorders, though their signs and symptoms may be different, share a great number of common causes and emotional aspects.

From Tom...

I suppose it is ironic that I work at a hospital. I was married to an alcoholic... how nice it would be to have a simple addiction like booze... you give it up and you are recovering. But you have to eat. Well I eat... when I'm hungry... when I'm full... when I'm anxious... when I'm happy... when I'm sad... well you get the idea. Food, the friend that never fails.

When I was a kid I was trained that food made it all better. When we were totally broke my mom would cook the most. She was a compulsive feeder so I became a compulsive eater.

Every diet has failed. I am a lifer on Weight Watchers, I have been through Nutra System. But it's not about the weight... it's about the inability to deal with feelings and emotions... about using a bowl of pasta or a pound of m&m's as a narcotic to stem the pain.

That's what compulsive overeating is.

I cry because it makes me overweight and no one sees the real me inside. I try to show the real me and I think that people don't like me because I am overweight. Another catch 22 or chicken and egg thing. I see my son gaining weight and I grieve. I want out... but then I realize that there is no out... only control... and control is harder than being in or out.

Read MORE Personal Stories
from people living with Compulsive Overeating


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Overeating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy