(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 
Boulimie Nerveuse

L'élément le plus commun de TOUS les troubles alimentaires est la présence inhérente d'une faible estime de soi

Boulimie Nerveuse
Les hommes et les femmes qui vivent avec la Boulimie se réfugient dans des épisodes de crise d'hyperphagie et de purge : ils mangeront de grandes quantités de nourriture en un temps relativement court et ensuite exerceront des actions telles que prendre des laxatifs ou se faire vomir afin de se punir pour quelque chose qu'il/elles pensent à tort devoir se reprocher Ceci peut être en relation directe avec les sentiments qu'ils/elles ont envers eux/elles-mêmes ou envers un événement en particulier ou un ensemble d'événements dans leur vie. La personne boulimique recherchera également des épisodes de crise d'hyperphagie et de purge pour refouler et exterioriser des sentiments tels que la colère, la depression, le stress ou l'anxieté.

"... la colère entravée à laquelle je me suis habituée … se reflètant sur moi-même…et avec chaque larme il y en a mille autres qui devront suivre pour que je puisse remonter des ténèbres... "

Les hommes et les femmes souffrant de Boulimie ont souvent conscience qu'ils souffrent d'un trouble alimentaire. Ils sont fascinés par la nourriture et achètent parfois des magazines et des livres de cuisine pour lire les recettes et aiment discuter au sujet des régimes.

Certains des signes du comportement peuvent être : épisodes fréquents de prise de nourriture rapide suivie de sentiment de culpabilité énorme et de purge (laxatif ou vomissement auto-induit), un sentiment de perte de contrôle sur son comportement alimentaire, l'engagement régulier dans des régimes contraignants et l'exercice ; l'abus de laxatifs, de diurétiques et / ou de pilules amaigrissantes et une préoccupation permanente pour l'image corporelle. Voir aussi, Signes et Symptomes.

"... mon besoin de faire ça…est presque instinctivement protectif…un mécanisme qui met à l'abri mon moi réel dans mon esprit…et je ne pense même pas connaître mon moi réel... "

Il est important de réaliser ce qui rend une personne boulimique différente de l'Anorexique : ce n'est pas la purge, mais le cycle de crise et de purge. La purge peut être obtenue en utilisant des laxatifs ou en se faisant vomir, mais il existe des boulimiques qui utilisent des comportements de compensation inappropiés tels que l'exercice compulsif (jogging ou aérobic excessifs) pour essayer de brûler les calories d'une crise, ou alors jeûner les jours qui suivent la crise. Il n'est pas rare pour une personne souffrant de boulimie de prendre des pilules amigrissantes pour essayer de prévenir la crise ou de vouloir perdre du poids en prenant des diurétiques. La victime se trouvera souvent à cacher ou à empiler de la nourriture pour des crises futures, elle mangera souvent "en secret" et ses variations de poids peuvent être importantes.

"...je ressens comme si un intrus remplissait cette pièce silencieuse avec angoisse… un silence qui gratte contre les fenêtres et qui me laisse si gelée et étourdie…et d'une certiane façon… ce sentiment que je ne comprends pas est mon meilleur ami et ennemi à la fois... "

A la fois anorexie et Boulimie
Il y a de nombreuses similarités dans les deux maladies, la plus commune étant la cause. Il semble y avoir une récurrence commune d'abus sexuel et / ou physique et /ou émotionel en relation directe avec le trouble alimentaire (malgré le fait que tous les malades n'aient pas forcément vécu un abus). Chez certaines personnes, il semble aussi qu'il y ait un lien avec la dépression. Le trouble alimentaire engendre parfois la dépression ou alors c ‘est la dépression qui peut conduire au trouble alimentaire. Les troubles alimentaires sont donc des problèmes émotionnels très complexes. Bien qu'à première vue ils puissent sembler n'être rien de plus qu' une obsession dangereuse à propos du poids, il y a des conflits bien plus profonds que les hommes et le femmes qui souffrent de troubles alimentaires doivent résoudre.

"... je veux me libérer …et me réfugier dand mes larmes. Comment puis-je toucher mon moi intérieur et comprendre l'existence…lorsque cette essence tellement pénible s'est abattue sur moi?... "


Critères de Diagnostic
Ce qui suit est considéré comme « le livre de texte » de la définition la boulime nerveuse afin d'aider les médecins à établir un diagnostic clinique. Il ne représente bien sûr pas ce que les victimes ressentent ou expérimentent en vivant avec la maladie. Il est aussi important de souligner que vous pouvez souffrir de boulimie même si l'un de symptômes ci-dessous n'est pas présent (voir aussi la section Signes et Symptômes). En d'autres termes, si vous croyez être boulimique, il est dangereux de penser en lisant les critères de diagnostic "je n'ai pas ce symptôme, je ne peux pas être boulimique".

  1. Episodes réguliers de crises de bouilimie. Un episode de crise de boulimie est caractérisé par les deux points suivants:
    • Manger, dans un laps de temps assez court (par exemple en 2 heures) une quantité de nourriture définitivement supérieure à celle que mangeraient la plupart des gens en un temps similaire et dans des conditions similaires
    • Un sentiment de perte de contrôle sur la prise alimentaire durant ces épisodes (par exemple, le sentiment que l'on ne peut pas arrêter de manger ou contrôler ce que l'on mange et en quelle quantité)
  2. Recours réguliers à des comportements compensatoires inappropriés pour prévenir la prise de poids, tels que vomissement auto-induit, abus de laxatifs, de diurétiques, lavements ou autres médicaments, jeûne ou sur-exercice
  3. La crise de boulimie et les comportements inappropriés ont lieu en moyenne au moins deux fois par semaine pour 3 mois consécutifs
  4. L'évaluation de soi est influencée par la forme corporelle et le poids
  5. Les comportements n'interviennent pas exclusivement lors d'épisodes d'anorexie nerveuse

    • Type purgatif: durant l'épisode de boulimie nerveuse, la personne pratique régulièrement le vomissement auto-induit, l' abus de laxatifs, de diurétiques, lavements
    • Type non-purgatif: durant l'épisode de boulimie nerveuse, la personne a régulièrement utilisé d'autres comportement s compensatoires inappropriés comme le jeûne ou l'exercice excessif mais n'a pas pratiqué le vomissement auto-induit, l' abus de laxatifs, de diurétiques, lavements

"... tout changement m'intimide…en un bref moment trop de vulnérabilité peut surgir et je serai là, complètement ouverte à toute la souffrance …toutes ces choses qui pendent au-dessus de moi, qui pèsent sur moi…que faudra-t-il pour que l'obscurité ne soit plus si obscure? "

[Merci à Sabrina de la traduction]


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 

Bulimia Nervosa


The most common element surrounding ALL Eating Disorders is the inherent presence of a low self esteem

Bulimia Nervosa
Men and women who live with Bulimia seek out binge and purge episodes -- they will eat a large quantity of food in a relatively short period of time and then use behaviors such as taking laxatives or self-induced vomiting -- because they feel overwhelmed in coping with their emotions, or in order to punish themselves for something they feel they should unrealistically blame themselves for. This can be in direct relation to how they feel about themselves, or how they feel over a particular event or series of events in their lives. Those suffering with Bulimia may seek episodes of binging and purging to avoid and let out feelings of anger, depression, stress or anxiety. New research indicates that for a percentage of sufferers, a genetic predisposition may play a role in a sensitivity to develop Bulimia, with environmental factors being the trigger.

"... the shackled anger I am accustomed to... reflecting on myself... and with every tear there are a thousand more that need to follow so I may climb from the darkness... "

Men and women suffering Bulimia are usually aware they have an eating disorder. Fascinated by food they sometimes buy magazines and cook-books to read recipes, and enjoy discussing dieting issues.

Some of the behavioral signs can be: Recurring episodes of rapid food consumption followed by tremendous guilt and purging (laxatives or self-induced vomiting), a feeling of lacking control over his or her eating behaviors, regularly engaging in stringent diet plans and exercise, the misuse of laxatives, diuretics, and/or diet pills and a persistent concern with body image can all be warning signs someone is suffering with Bulimia. See Also, Signs and Symptoms.

"... my need to do this... it is almost instinctually protective.... a mechanism shielding out the real me in my mind... and I don't think I even know who the real me is... "

It is important to realize that what makes a person Bulimic -- as opposed to Anorexic -- is not the purging, but the cycle of binging and purging. Purging may be using laxatives or self-induced vomiting, but there are Bulimics who use other inappropriate compensatory behaviors such as compulsive exercise (ie., excessive jogging or aerobics), to attempt to burn off the calories of a binge, or fasting the day following a binge. It is not uncommon for a man or woman suffering with Bulimia to take diet pills in an attempt to keep from binging, or to use diuretics to try to lose weight. A sufferer will often hide or "store" food for later binges, will often eat secretly and can have large fluctuations in their weight.

"...I sense a stranger filling this silent room with anguish... a silence that rattles against the windows leaving me so cold and numb... and somehow... this feeling I do not understand is my best friend and enemy all wrapped up in one... "

Both Anorexia and Bulimia...
There are many similarities in both illnesses, the most common being the cause. There seems to be a common occurrence of sexual and/or physical and emotional abuse in direct relation to eating disorders (though not all people living with Eating Disorders are survivors of abuse). There also seems to be a direct connection in some people to clinical Depression. The eating disorder sometimes causes the depression or the depression can lead to the eating disorder. All in all, eating disorders are very complex emotional issues -- Though they may seem to be nothing more than a dangerously obsessive weight concern on the surface, for most men and women suffering with an eating disorder there are deeper emotional conflicts to be resolved.

"... I want to free myself... and find security in my tears. How can I touch my innerself and know of the existence... when this painful essence has beaten me down?... "


Diagnostic Criteria
The following is considered the "text book" definition of Bulimia Nervosa to assist doctors in making a clinical diagnosis... it is in no way representative of what a sufferer feels or experiences in living with the illness. It is important to note that you can still suffer from Bulimia even if one of the below signs is not present (also see the Signs and Symptoms section). In other words, if you think you have Bulimia, it's dangerous to read the diagnostic criteria and think "I don't have one of the symptoms, so I must not be Bulimic".

  1. Recurrent episodes of binge eating. An episode of binge eating is characterized by both of the following:
    • eating, in a discrete period of time (e.g., within any 2-hour period), an amount of food that is definitely larger than most people would eat during a similar period of time and under similar circumstances
    • a sense of lack of control over eating during the episode (e.g., a feeling that one cannot stop eating or control what or how much one is eating)
  2. Recurrent inappropriate compensatory behavior in order to prevent weight gain, such as self-induced vomiting; misuse of laxatives, diuretics, enemas, or other medications; fasting; or excessive exercise.
  3. The binge eating and inappropriate compensatory behaviors both occur, on average, at least twice a week for 3 months.
  4. Self-evaluation is unduly influenced by body shape and weight.
  5. The disturbance does not occur exclusively during episodes of Anorexia Nervosa.

    • Purging Type: during the current episode of Bulimia Nervosa, the person has regularly engaged in self-induced vomiting or the misuse of laxatives, diuretics, or enemas
    • Nonpurging Type: during the current episode of Bulimia Nervosa, the person has used other inappropriate compensatory behaviors, such as fasting or excessive exercise, but has not regularly engaged in self-induced vomiting or the misuse of laxatives, diuretics, or enemas

"... intimidated by any change... in a brief moment there might be too much vulnerability and I'll be left wide open to really hurt...
all these things hanging over me, weighing me down... What will it take to make the darkness not so dark? "


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy