Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 
Anorexie Nerveuse

L'élément le plus commun de TOUS les troubles alimentaires est la présence inhérente d'une faible estime de soi

Anorexie Nerveuse
Il n'est pas simple de comprendre une personne souffrant d'anorexie. Les gens qui vivent avec cette maladie ont souvent une faible estime d'eux-mêmes et un besoin impétieux de cotrôler leur environnement et leurs émotions. Très souvent le trouble alimentaire est une réaction exceptionnelle face à un déploiement de conflits internes et externes, comme le stress, l'anxiété et la tristesse. L'anorexie est un moyen négatif pour faire face à ces émotions.

"...la privation de nourriture remplit un vide à l'intérieur lorsque c'est ton approbation que je recherche. Le désir de nourriture s'est évanoui mais toi tu es encore là…criant…tellement négatif. Des épisodes comme celui-ci remplis de la pulsion martelante de s'enfuir et disparaître..."

La personne souffrant d'anorexie peut être anormalement sensible concernant le fait d'être perçue comme grosse, ou avoir une crainte incommensurée de devenir grosse. Elles / Ils peuvent avoir peur de perdre le contrôle sur la quantité de nourriture qu'elles / ils vont manger, accompagné du désir de contrôler leurs émotions et leurs réactions vis-à-vis de ces émotions. Avec une faible estime de soi et un besoin d'être acceptés il/elles vont être obsédés par l'amincissement et la privation de nourriture comme moyens de contrôle non seulement de leur poids mais aussi de leurs sentiments et des actions concernant les émotions afférentes. Certaines / certains ont aussi le sentiment de ne pas mériter les plaisirs de la vie et se priveront de toute situation procurant du plaisir (y inclus la nourriture).

Quelques signes de comportement peuvent être : excrcice physique excessif, comptage des calories et des graisses, privation et restriction de nourriture, vomissement auto-induit,, usage de pilules amaigrissantes, laxatifs ou diurétiques dans le but de contrôler le poids et une préoccupation persistante de l'image corporelle. Voir aussi, Signes et Symptômes.

Il n'est pas rare pour les personnes souffrant d'anorexie de passer par des périodes de Boulimie (compulsion alimentaire et purge)

"... perdue dans les ténèbres de ma propre circonstance, critiquant les échos qui me laissent évéillée la nuit… la barrière et les barricades qui me donnent protection et contrôle alors que je prétends que tout va bien... "

Il est important de remarquer qu'il existe nombre de manières selon lesquelles une personne atteinte d'anorexie peut décrire son mal. Le trait inhérant aux personnes souffrant d'anorexie est leur recherche à maintenir un contrôle strict sur leur consommation alimentaire. Dans un nombre de cas un homme ou une femme malade semblera manger des repas normaux et restreindre sa consommation alimentaire par périodes ; Les anorexiques sont parfois connu(e)s pour consommer des aliments-minute (en particulier les sucreries), de café, de thé et/ou fumer. Elles/ils peuvent nier la faim, trouver des excuses pour éviter de manger, cachent souvent la nourriture qu'elles / ils disent avoir mangé, utilisent des pilules amaigrissantes pour contrôler leur appétit, ou essayent de purger ce qu'elles /ils ont mangé en se faisant vomir ou en, or by prenant des laxatifs.

"...Les émotions me contrôlent…me font cacher dans l'abri sûr du silence…mon esprit demeure distant de ce que ressent mon coeur. Si je le dis…c'est réel…donc je ne dis rien. Je ne peux le toucher…si je le touchais je me recroquevillerai ou tomberais en miettes. Je semble avoir un coeur de pierre…mais en fait ce n'est que de la craie…et j'ai peur d'envisager la possibilité que je pourrais facilement finir en poussière..."

A la fois anorexie et Boulimie...
a de nombreuses similitudes dans les deux maladies, la plus commune étant la cause. Il semble y avoir une récurrence commune d'abus sexuel et / ou physique et /ou émotionel en relation directe avec le trouble alimentaire (malgré le fait que tous les malades n'aient pas forcément vécu un abus). Chez certaines personnes, il semble aussi qu'il y aurait un lien avec la dépression. Le trouble alimentaire engendre parfois la dépression ou alors c ‘est la dépression qui peut conduire au trouble alimentaire. Les troubles alimentaires sont donc des problèmes émotionnels très complexes. Bien qu'à première vue ils puissent sembler n'être rien de plus qu' une obsession dangereuse à propos du poids, il y a des conflits bien plus profonds que les hommes et les femmes qui souffrent de troubles alimentaires doivent résoudre.

"...la seule plainte que j'émane est contre moi-même…pour vouloir le bonheur que je ne puis avoir…et encore maintenant, ne peux croire que je le mérite..."


Critères de Diagnostic
Ce qui suit est considéré comme « le livre de texte » de la définition l ‘anorexie nerveuse afin d'aider les médecins à établir un diagnostic clinique. Il ne représente bien sûr pas ce que les victimes ressentent ou expérimentent en vivant avec la maladie. Il est aussi important de souligner que vous pouvez souffrir d'anorexie même si l'un des symptômes ci-dessous n'est pas présent (voir aussi la section Signes et Symptômes). En d'autres termes, si vous croyez être anorexique, il est dangereux de penser en lisant les critères de diagnostic "je n'ai pas ce symptôme, je ne peux pas être anorexique".

  1. Refus de maintenir le poids corporel au niveau ou au dessus d'un poids minimum normal pour l'âge et la hauteur (p ex. Perte de poids menant à un poids corporel de 85 % du poids idéal, ou incapacité de prendre le poids prévu durant la période de croissance, conduisant à un poids corporel inférieur à 85% du poids prévu)
  2. Peur intense de prendre du poids ou de devenir gros(se), malgré un eventuel sous-poids
  3. La forme du corps et le poids sont perçus de façon distortionnées, influence négative du poids ou de la forme du corps sur l'evaluation de soi, ou déni de la gravité du poids trop bas
  4. Aménorrhé (absence de règles) chez les femmes post-pubères (femmes qui ne sont pas encore en ménopause)

    • Type restrictif: durant l'épisode d'anorexie nerveuse, la personne ne pratique pas régulièrement des comportements de compulsion alimentaire ou de purge ( p.ex. vomissement auto induit, diurétiques ou lavements)
    • Type compulsion alimentaire ou type purgatif : durant l'épisode d'anorexie nerveuse, la personne a régulièrement mangé de manière compulsive ou à manifesté un comportement de purge ( p.ex. vomissement auto induit, diurétiques ou lavements)

"...ce qui se reflète et me regarde n'est pas ce que vous voyez…ma culpabilité conduit mon besoin de détruire ma durée…me forçant à rechercher la direction sur une assiette vide de rêves volés et d'arcs-en-ciel fracturés..."

[Merci à Sabrina de la traduction]


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  
EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia
Compulsive Eating :: Binge Eating
ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books
 

Anorexia Eating Disorders


The most common element surrounding ALL Eating Disorders, including Anorexia, is the inherent presence of a low self esteem

Anorexia Nervosa
Those who are suffering with Anorexia Eating Disorders have a low self-esteem and often a tremendous need to control their surroundings and emotions. Anorexia Disorder is a unique reaction to a variety of external and internal conflicts, such as stress, anxiety, unhappiness and feeling like life is out of control. Eating Disorders and Anorexia is a negative way to cope with these emotions. New research indicates that for a percentage of sufferers, a genetic predisposition may play a role in a sensitivity to develop Anorexia Disorder, with environmental factors being the trigger.

"...starvation fills a void inside when it's approval from you I crave. The desire for food is gone and you are there again... yelling... so negative. Times like this filled with the pounding urge to run far away and disappear..."

The person suffering with Anorexia may be abnormally sensitive about being perceived as fat, or have a massive fear of becoming fat -- though not all people living with Anorexia have this fear. They may be afraid of losing control over the amount of food they eat, accompanied by the desire to control their emotions and reactions to their emotions. With a low self-esteem and need for acceptance they will turn to obsessive dieting and starvation as a way to control not only their weight, but their feelings and actions regarding the emotions attached. Some also feel that they do not deserve pleasure out of life, and will deprive themselves of situations offering pleasure (including eating).

Some of the behavioral signs can be: obsessive exercise, calorie and fat gram counting, starvation and restriction of food, self-induced vomiting, the use of diet pills, laxatives or diuretics to attempt controlling weight, and a persistent concern with body image. See Also, Signs and Symptoms.

It is not uncommon for people suffering with Anorexia to waver through periods of Bulimia (binging and purging) as well.

"... lost in the darkness of my own circumstance, criticizing echoes leaving me awake in the night... the barrier and blockades that keep me safe and in control while I pretend that I am okay... "

It is important to point out that there can be a number of ways a person suffering from Anorexia can portray their disorder. The inherent trait of a person suffering Anorexia is to attempt to maintain strict control over food intake. In a number of cases a man or woman suffering will seem to eat normal meals with only periods of restriction. Anorexics are sometimes known to eat junk food, particularly candy, to drink a lot of coffee or tea, and/or to smoke. They may deny hunger, make excuses to avoid eating, will often hide food they claim to have eaten, use diet pills to control appetite, or attempt to purge the food away with self-induced vomiting, or by taking laxatives.

"...Emotions control me... make me hide in a safe place of silence.... my mind stays distant from what my heart feels. If I say it... it's real... so I say nothing. I can't touch it... if I did I would curl up or crumble. I may seem to be made by heart of stone.... but really just chalk... and I'm afraid to face the possibility that I could easily turn to dust..."

Both Anorexia and Bulimia...
There are many similarities in both illnesses, the most common being the cause. There seems to be a common occurrence of sexual and/or physical and emotional abuse in direct relation to eating disorders (though not all people living with Eating Disorders are survivors of abuse). There also seems to be a direct connection in some people to clinical Depression. The eating disorder sometimes causes the depression or the depression can lead to the eating disorder. All in all, eating disorders are very complex emotional issues -- Though they may seem to be nothing more than a dangerously obsessive weight concern on the surface, for most men and women suffering with an eating disorder there are deeper emotional conflicts to be resolved.

"...the only blame I cast is on myself... for wanting the happiness I couldn't have... and still now, can't believe I deserve..."


Diagnostic Criteria
The following is considered the "text book" definition of Anorexia Nervosa to assist doctors in making a clinical diagnosis... it is in no way representative of what a sufferer feels or experiences in living with the illness. It is important to note that you can still suffer from Anorexia even if one of the below signs is not present (also see the Signs and Symptoms section). In other words, if you think you have Anorexia, it's dangerous to read the diagnostic criteria and think "I don't have one of the symptoms, so I must not be Anorexic".

  1. Refusal to maintain body weight at or above a minimally normal weight for age and height (e.g., weight loss leading to maintenance of body weight less than 85% of that expected; or failure to make expected weight gain during period of growth, leading to body weight less than 85% of that expected).
  2. Intense fear of gaining weight or becoming fat, even though underweight.
  3. Disturbance in the way in which one's body weight or shape is experienced, undue influence of body weight or shape on self-evaluation, or denial of the seriousness of the current low body weight.
  4. In postmenarcheal females (women who have not yet gone through menopause), amenorrhea (the absence of at least three consecutive menstrual cycles).

    • Restricting Type: during the current episode of Anorexia Nervosa, the person has not regularly engaged in binge-eating or purging behavior (i.e., self-induced vomiting or the misuse of laxatives, diuretics, or enemas)
    • Binge-Eating Type or Purging Type: during the current episode of Anorexia Nervosa, the person has regularly engaged in binge-eating OR purging behavior (i.e., self-induced vomiting or the misuse of laxatives, diuretics, or enemas)

"...the reflection staring back at me is not what you see... my guilt running the need to destroy my duration... forcing me to seek guidance on an empty plate of stolen dreams and fractured rainbows..."


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: ED or Diet? :: Anorexia :: Bulimia :: Compulsive Eating ::
:: Binge Eating :: ED-NOS :: Others :: Exercise :: Books ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy