(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning
 
Troubles Alimentaires et Phobies

Les troubles alimentaires peuvent se présenter chez une personne souffrant de Phobies. Les phobies peuvent se présenter chez des personnes souffrant de troubles alimentaires.

Peur intense... tremblements... .peux pas respirer... peux pas bouger... sueurs... panique... voix d'auto-défaite...

Ceci décrit seulement quelques symptômes que l'on peut rencontrer lorsque l'on est confronté avec l'objet qui déclanche la phobie chez un individu. La phobie est définie comme étant une peur intense et irréaliste, et lorsqu'on est confronté(e) avec cette peur cela peut causer des attaques de panique, des palpitations, des sentiments de nausée, des mains moites et une respiration accélérée.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit qu'il y a des traits communs entre certaines phobies et des troubles alimentaires, mais on ne peut pas généraliser que toutes les victimes de troubles alimentaires souffrent de phobies ou vice versa.

Il y a trois types de phobies:

Agoraphobie: C'est la peur de quitter un endroit sûr, comme la maison... Il est important de souligner que les victimes de troubles alimentaires peuvent montrer des symptômes d'agoraphobie. Il n'est pas rare pour des personnes souffrant d'anorexie, de boulimie ou d'hyperphagie compulsive d'avoir une peur intense de manger en public sous l'oeil attentif des autres, et souvent le comportement d'isolement s'installe où l'on evitera les situations où il faut quitter la "sécurité" de sa maison.

Phobies sociales: Peur d'être embarassé(e) ou humilié(e) au cours d'un événement en société. Les victimes souffrant d'anorexie, de boulimie ou d'hyperphagie compulsive peuvent connaître un ceratin niveau de phobie sociale. La peur d'être pris en train de faire ce qu'elles pensent être embarassant ou humiliant comme manger en public, acheter des aliments, des pilules amaigrissantes ou des laxatifs, ou être en train de vomir sont de bons exemples de comment peut se manifester la phobie sociale. A couse de la présence inhérente d'une pauvre estime de soi-même, il peut ausssi y avoir une peur intense d'être jugée comme grosse, laide, stupide, folle ou anormale par les autres. Ces types de craintes peuvent être de celles qui reviennent cycliquement, ou peuvent contribuer à l'aggravation des comportoments à tendance agoraphobique (cherchant l'isolement dans la sécurité de leur maison). Il est important de souligner que les troubles alimentaires peuvent conduire à un type de phobie sociale, ou bien qu'une phobie sociale peut engendrer un trouble alimentaire, mais ce n'est pas une règle générale pour les victimes de l'un ou l'autre de ces troubles.

[July 27th, 1999] rend compte d'une nouvelle étude de la drogue Neurontin (capsules de gabapentin), prouvant que la drogue a diminué les symptômes du phobia social par 31%, comparés à une réduction 14% pour le placebo. (en anglais)

Les paragraphes qui suivent sont extraits du livre "Combattre la phobie" don't l'auteur est Lynne L. Hall. Ces passages sont interessants à prendre en consideration lorsue l'on pense à un trouble aimentaire

"les gens souffrant de phobie sociale redoutent le regard des autres. Ils ont tendance à être hyper-sensibles aux critiques, et interpètent souvent les actions des autres lors de rassemblement sociaux comme étant des tentatives pour les humilier. Ils ont peur de se mêler aux conversations de peur de dire quelque chose de stupide, et peuvent agoniser des heures et de jours sur quelque chose qu'il ont dit."

"De nombreuses personnes souffrant de phobie sociale sont si sensibles au regard des autre qu'elles ont du mal à manger et à boire en public, à utiliser les toilettes publiques, à signer un chèque en présence d'autrui. La phobie sociale peut être souvent associée à la depression et à l'alcoolisme."

"Les expériences sociales négatives, comme être rejeté par ses pairs ou suffrir d'une gêne quelconque en public, ainsi que des faibles aptitutes sociales semblent être des facteurs , et la phobie sociale peut être reliée à une pauvre estime de soi, un manque d'affirmation et des sentiments d'inf ériorité."

Phobies spécifiques: Ceci est la crainte d'une situation ou d'un objet en particulier, et sa relation avec les troubles alimentaires peut être aussi spécifique que la nouriture ou le fait de manger. Ce qui est intéressant lorque l'on observe les phobies spécifiques à la nourriture ou à l'acte de manger, on peut s'apercevoir que la phobie peut déclancher à elle seule le trouble alimentaire, ou vice-versa. Par example, les victimes d'abus sexuel ont souvent des phobies des objets spécifiques qui leur rappellent leur abuseur (si par exaple la personne leur a donné un bombon après l'abus); les gens qui ont eu une expérience d'étranglement (par quelq'un, avec de la nourritue ou par noyade) peuvent développer une phobie d'étranglement, ce qui serait la cause d'éviter toute nourriture. Et comme me l'a fait remarquer récemment quelq'un, une personne ayant souffert dans son enfance d'une malaide qui aurait empêché une alimentation normale pourrait développer une phobie des aliments qui ne sont pas dans ce rayon "sûr" de ce qu'elle devait manger au début de sa malaide.


Définitions des phobies
from De la Liste des phobies
Par Fred Culberston.

Phagophobie - peur d'avaler ou de manger.

Sitophobie ou Sitiophobie - peur de la nourriture au de manger (cf Cibophobie)


Les phobies et les troubles phobiques sont considérés comme faisant partie des troubles anxieux, qui incluent le trouble de la panique, le stress post traumatique, le trouble obsessif-compulsionel. Ceux-ci sont assez fréquents chez les personnes souffrant de troubles de l'alimentation. En observant les troubles émotionnels / psychologiques dans leur ensemble, il est aisé de constater que, sans tenir compte des manifestations physiques d'un trouble spécifique, ils partagent tous un objectif commun dans la guérison... trouver et faire face aux problèmes sous-jacents qui ont causé la naissance des comportements et / ou des émotions.

Les ressources pour la panique et
l'anxiété sur Internet

http://www.algy.com/anxiety/

L'association nationale
de santé mentale

(1-800) 969-6642
1021 Prince St.
Alexandria, VA 22314-2971
http://www.nmha.org/

Freedom From Fear, Inc.
(718) 351-1717
308 Seaview Ave.
Staten Island, NY 10305

Phobiques anonymes
(619) 322-2673
P.O. Box 1180
Palm Springs, CA 92263

Alliance natinale pour
madales mentaux

(1-800) 950-6264
200 Glebe Road
Suite 1015
Arlington, VA 22203-3754

Association des malades des troubls
de l'anxiété américaine

(301) 231-9350
6000 Executive Boulevard
Suite 513
Rockville, MD 20852

[Merci à Sabrina de la traduction]


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception ::
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire ::
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias ::
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning
 
Eating Disorders & Phobias

Eating Disorders may or may not be present in a person with phobias, and phobias may or may not be present in a person with an Eating Disorder.

Intense Fear.... shaking.... can't breath.... can't move.... sweating.... panic.... voices of self-defeat...

This describes just some of the symptoms one can feel confronted with the object, event or emotion that creates the phobia for an individual. A phobia is defined as an intense or unrealistic fear, and when confronted with that fear it can cause panic attacks, pounding heartbeat, feelings of nausea, sweaty palms, and rapid breathing.

It is important to keep in mind that there may be common traits amongst some Phobias and Eating Disorders, but that it IS NOT a generalized rule that all people with an Eating Disorder suffer from a Phobia, or that all Phobia victims suffer from an Eating Disorder.

There are three types of phobias:

Agoraphobia: This is the fear of leaving a safe place, such as home -- It is interesting to point out that a number of people suffering with Eating Disorders can display symptoms of Agoraphobia. It isn't uncommon for those with Anorexia, Bulimia and Compulsive Overeating to have an intense fear of eating in public under a watchful eye of others, and often time an isolationistic type of behavior can sets in, where they will increasingly avoid such situations where they must leave the "safety" of home.

Social Phobias: Fear of embarrassment or humiliation in social settings. -- In a number of ways, people suffering with Anorexia, Bulimia or Compulsive Overeating can also possess some level of social phobia. Fear of being caught in what they perceive as humiliating or embarrassing behaviors such as eating in public, purchasing groceries, diet-pills or laxatives, or being caught purging are good examples of how this can manifest into a social phobia. Because of the inherent presence of a low self-esteem, there can also be intense fears of being judged by others as fat, ugly, stupid, crazy or abnormal. These types of fears can be phobic in-and-of-themselves, or can contribute back to the tendency for Agoraphobic type behaviors (seeking isolation in the safety of their home). It is important to note that Eating Disorders may lead to a type of social phobia, or a social phobia can lead to disordered eating, but this is NOT a generalized rule for sufferers of either.

[July 27th, 1999] JCP reports on a new study of the drug Neurontin (gabapentin capsules), showing that the drug decreased the symptoms of social phobia by 31%, compared to a 14% reduction for the placebo.

The following passages from "Fighting Phobias - The Things That Go Bump In The Mind" by FDA writer, Lynne L. Hall are interesting to take into consideration when thinking about Eating Disorders...

"People suffering from social phobia fear the scrutiny of others. They tend to be highly sensitive to criticism, and often interpret the actions of others in social gatherings as an attempt to humiliate them. They are afraid to enter into conversations for fear of saying something foolish, and may agonize for hours or days later over things they did say."

"Many people with social phobia are so sensitive to the scrutiny of others that they avoid eating or drinking in public, using public restrooms, or signing a check in the presence of another. Social phobia may often be associated with depression or alcohol abuse."

"Negative social experiences, such as being rejected by peers or suffering some type of embarrassment in public, and poor social skills also seem to be factors, and social phobia may be related to low self-esteem, lack of assertiveness, and feelings of inferiority."

Specific Phobias: This is the fear of an object of situation, and in relation to an Eating Disorder could be as specific as food or eating itself. What is particularly interesting in looking into specific phobias with food or eating, is that the phobia itself may precipitate the Eating Disorder, or vice versa. For example, victims of sexual abuse are often phobic about specific items that remind them of their abuser (such as if the person often gave them candy or cookies following the abuse); people that have had an experience in which they were choked (in abuse) or choking (such as with drowning or on food itself) may develop a phobia of choking, which would then be cause of avoiding food; and as recently noted by an individual who wrote to me, someone suffering a childhood illness which prevented "normal" eating patterns could develop a phobia for eating foods outside that "safe" realm of what they had to eat during the onset of the illness.


Phobia Definitions
from The Phobia List
compiled and maintained by Fredd Culbertson.

Phagophobia - Fear of swallowing or of eating.

Sitophobia or Sitiophobia - Fear of food or eating. (also, Cibophobia)


Phobias or Phobic disorders are considered to be part of the group of anxiety disorders, which includes panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and obsessive-compulsive disorder, all of which are also not-so-uncommon to find amongst sufferers of Eating Disorders. In looking at emotional/psychological disorders and disturbances as a whole, it would be fairly easy to say that regardless of the physical manifestations of any given disorder, they all share one common goal to move closer to recovery... finding and facing the underlying issue(s) that caused the initial onset of the behavior and/or emotions.

the Anxiety Panic internet resource
http://www.algy.com/anxiety/

National Mental Health Association
(1-800) 969-6642
1021 Prince St.
Alexandria, VA 22314-2971
http://www.nmha.org/

Freedom From Fear, Inc.
(718) 351-1717
308 Seaview Ave.
Staten Island, NY 10305

Phobics Anonymous
(619) 322-2673
P.O. Box 1180
Palm Springs, CA 92263

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill
(1-800) 950-6264
200 Glebe Road
Suite 1015
Arlington, VA 22203-3754

Anxiety Disorders Association of America
(301) 231-9350
6000 Executive Boulevard
Suite 513
Rockville, MD 20852


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception ::
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire ::
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias ::
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy