(866) 690-7239
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning
 
La Santé Mentale Associée Conditionne et Penchants

Ci dessous vous trouverez quelques troubles psychologiques et dépendances que l'on peut parfois trouver chez les victimes de désordres alimentiares

Il n'est pas rare de trouver chez des personnes souffrant de troubles alimentaires d'autres troubles psychologiques qui co-existent avec leur Anorexie / Boulimie et/ou hyperphagie compulsive. Dans ceratins cas, leur trouble alimentaire est le symptôme secondaire d'un trouble psychologique sous-jacent (comme les personnes qui souffrent à la fois de troubles de personalités multiples), dans d'autre cas, c'est le trouble psychologique qui sera secondaire au trouble alimentaire (comme les personnes qui souffrent aussi de dépession). Chez certaines personnes les troubles alimentaires et d'autes troubles psychologique peuvent complètement co-exister en même temps �ou alors ils peuvet avoir des désordres alimenataires et peu ou pas de signes d'un autre trouble psychologique (note: plus longtemps la personne souffre, plus les chances qu'elle soit confrontée à la Dépression ou à l'Anxiété augmentent). Il est important pour le processus de guérison que tous ces problèmes soient abordés et qu'on pose un diagnostic.

Certaines des maladies psychologiques peuvent rencontrées chez certaines personnes souffrant d' Anorexie, de Boulimie et/ou d'hyperphagie complusive sont: trouble obsessionel-compulsif, dépression, stress post-traumatique, trouble maniaco-dépressif de type I et II, personalité borderline, troubles de la panique et de l'anxiété, trouble dissociatif et trouble de la personalité multiple.

En outre, certaines personnes souffrant de troubles alimentaires peuvent aussi montrer d'autres comportements de dépendance ou d'auto-destruction. Le trouble alimentaire est une réaction à une faible estime de soi et un moyen négatif de faire face à la vie tout comme le sont d'autres types de dépendances. Celles-ci incluent l'alcoolisme, les drogues (illégales, préscrites ou en vente libre), les blessures auto-infligées, les coupures et les auto-mutilations.

Le fait de se blesser soi-même, connu sous les formes de blessures auto-infligées, de coupures et d' auto-mutilations (ou violence auto-infligée / VAI) et un mécanisme parfois présent chez des personnes souffrant de troubles alimentaires. Ceratines peuvent penser qu 'il est plus facile de s'occuper de la douleur physique réelle que de la douleur émotionelle. D'autres peuvent se sentir engourdies et le recours à la douleur physique leur donne l'impression de vivre. Elles peuvent même ressentir qu'elles méritent d'être blessées. La violence auto-infligée peut être utilisée pour bloquer la douleur émotionnelle ou pour que la personne se sente "forte". C'est un moyen de faire face au stress, à la colère, à la honte, à la culpabilité, à la tristesse et comme une échappatoire pour les émotions qui se sont accumulées à l'intérieur. La violence auto-infligée peut être légère ou plus importante, mais elle ne doit jamais être interprétée comme une tentative de suicide consciente (malgré le fait que quelques victimes en meurent, ceci reste rare). La violence auto-infligée comprend les fait de se couper, de se brûler, de se frapper, de se cogner avec un objet, de se tirer les yeux, de se morder et de se taper la tête, et des methodes mois courantes mais qui ont des effets à long terme ou irréversibles comme le bris d'os et les amputations.

Souffrir d'un trouble alimentaire seul ou accompagné par toute autre maladie psychologique ou dépendance laisse toute victime à la recherche de nouveaux et meilleurs moyns de faire face. Vérifiez dans la section faire face pour quelques suggestions et dans demande d'aide.

Il y a des éléments qui portent à croire que les troubles alimentaire co-existent parfois avec des troubles de l'attention (ADD), ou des troubles de l'attention avec hyperactivité (ADHD). Des études ont démontré que des femmes souffrant de ADD non diagnostiqué ont plus de possibilités de développer un trouble alimentaire. Certains symptômes neurologiques de l'ADD /ADHD peuvent être: se rattacher à la pensée négative et/ou la colère, l'impulsivité aussi bien verbale (interrompre les autres) que d'action (agir avant de penser). Il peut aussi y avoir une négativité émotionelle inexpliquée, une dépression, et même des tentatives de suicide. Pour avoir un diagnostic correct il faut remplir toute une liste de critères, ainsi si vous pensez avoir un de ces troubles, consultez une des adresses mentionnées à la fin de cet article. L'Association Nationale Américaine de ADD déclare que "si non soumis à traitement, le personnes souffrant de ADHD peuvent déveloper une garnde variété de problèmes secondaires tout au long de leur vie, entre autre la dépression, l'anxieté, l'abus de substances, l'echec scolaire, des problèmes d'orientation professionelle, des mésentantes dans le couple et le désarroi émotionnel". Les mêmes troubles psychologiques qui surviennent avec avec un trouble alimentaire peuvent co-exister avec un ADD/ADHD : dépression, Trouble Maniaco-dépressif, Stress post-traumatique, troubles obsessionels-compulsifs.

J'I reçu du courrier de nombreux hommes qui vivent avec un trouble alimentaire et un ADHD en même temps, et tout laisse à croire qu'il ait beaucoup plus d'hommes et de femmes qui sont dans le même cas.

Les autre troubles psychologiques et dépendances qui peuvent co-exister avec un trouble alimentaire ou qui peuvent être la cause d'une alimentation troublée sont cités ci dessous comme liens pour de plus amples informations. De gâce, avant de sauter à une conlusion pour vous ou pour un proche, recherchez l'information. Les troubles alimentaires ne co-existent pas toujours avec un autre trouble psycholoqique ou une dépendance, mais il n'est pas rare que ce soit le cas. Souvenez-vous que nombre de ces troubles partagent des symptômes similaires. Un diagnostic exact fait par un médecin st très important pour la réussite d'un traitement et la guérison.

Depression


Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Bipolar and Bipolar II Disorder (Manic-Depression)
Borderline Personality Disorder
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Survivors of Abuse
Dissociative Identity Disorder / Multiple Personality Disorder
ADHD/ADD
Anxiety and Panic
Narcissism
Alcoholism
Drug Addiction
Family and Parenting
Self-Injury / Cutting
Other Mental Health Sites

[Merci à Sabrina de la traduction]


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception ::
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire ::
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias ::
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2017 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning
 
Associated Mental Health Conditions and Addictions

Below you will find some of the psychological illnesses and addictions that can sometimes co-exist with an Eating Disorder.

In people who suffer from Eating Disorders it is not uncommon to find other associated psychological disorders that co-exist with their Anorexia, Bulimia and/or Compulsive Overeating. In some cases, their Eating Disorder is a secondary symptom to an underlying psychological disorder (such as some people who also suffer with Multiple Personality Disorder), and in other cases, the psychological disorder may be secondary to the Eating Disorder (as with some people also suffering with Depression). Men and women may also suffer from both an Eating Disorder and other psychological disorder(s) that completely co-exist with one another... or they can suffer from an Eating Disorder and have little or no signs of an additional psychological disorder (Note: The longer a person suffers, the more probable that they may be dealing with Depression or Anxiety as well). It is important to the recovery process and treatment that all these issues are addressed, and that a proper diagnosis be determined.

Some of the psychological illness that can be (but are not always) found in people suffering with Anorexia, Bulimia and Compulsive Overeating are: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, BiPolar and BiPolar II Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic Disorders and anxiety, and Dissociative Disorder and Multiple Personality Disorder.

In addition, some people suffering with an Eating Disorder may also be exhibiting other addictive or self-destructive behaviors. As an Eating Disorder is a reaction to a low self-esteem, and a negative means of coping with life and stress, so are other types of addictions. These can include alcoholism, drug addiction (illegal, prescription and/or over-the-counter medications), and self-injury, cutting and self-mutilation.

Harming oneself, also known as cutting, self-mutilation, or SIV (self-inflicted violence) is a coping mechanism that is sometimes found in people also suffering with an Eating Disorder. For some, they may find it easier to deal with real physical pain than to deal with their emotional pain, or some may feel emotionally numb and using SIV reminds them that they are alive. They may even feel that they deserve to be hurt. It can be used to block out emotional pain, or to make the person feel "strong". It is a way to cope with stress and anger, shame and guilt, sadness, and as a release for emotions that have built up inside. SIV can be mild to severe, but it should never be confused with a conscious attempt to commit suicide (though some may die as a result of their actions, this is relatively uncommon). SIV can include cutting, burning, punching, slapping, hitting oneself with an object, eye-pushing, biting and head-banging, and less common methods would be those that have long-lasting or life-long effects such as bone breaking, or amputation.

Suffering with an Eating Disorder, alone or combined with any other psychological illness or addiction, leaves each sufferer needing new and better ways to cope. Check out the Ways to Cope section for some suggestions, and reach out for help.

There is an indication that Eating Disorders may sometimes co-exist with ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) and ADHD (Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder). Studies have shown that women who go undiagnosed as ADD (but do in fact have it) are much more likely to develop an Eating Disorder. Some of the neurological symptoms of ADD/ADHD can be: holding onto negative thoughts and/or anger, as well as impulsivity both verbally (interrupting others) and in actions (acting before thinking). There may also be unexplained emotional negativity, depression, and even attempted suicide. To get a proper diagnosis, there is a whole criteria that needs to be met, so if you suspect you are living with ADHD or ADD, please visit one of the links below.

From the National ADD Association, "If untreated, individuals with ADHD may develop a variety of secondary problems as they move through life, including depression, anxiety, substance abuse, academic failure, vocational problems, marital discord, and emotional distress." There are many of the same possible co-existing psychological illnesses with ADHD/ADD as with an Eating Disorder, including: Depression, BiPolar Disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

I have received e-mail from a good number of men who are simultaneously living with ADHD and an Eating Disorder, and I suspect there are many more, both men and women, doing the same.

The other psychological disorders and addictions that can co-exist with an Eating Disorder, or that can be the cause of disordered eating, are listed below, along with links to further information. Please, before jumping to any conclusions about yourself or a loved-one, research the information. Eating Disorders do not always co-exist with another psychological illness or addiction, but it is not uncommon to find that they do. Remember, many of these illnesses and conditions share similar symptoms. A proper diagnosis by a doctor is very important to successful treatment and recovery.

Depression


Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Bipolar and Bipolar II Disorder (Manic-Depression)
Borderline Personality Disorder
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Survivors of Abuse
Dissociative Identity Disorder / Multiple Personality Disorder
ADHD/ADD
Anxiety and Panic
Narcissism
Alcoholism
Drug Addiction
Family and Parenting
Self-Injury / Cutting
Other Mental Health Sites


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception ::
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire ::
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias ::
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy