(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning
 
Troubles Alimentaires et Diabete

Un trouble alimentaire seul peut être très dangereux. Lorsqu'il est combiné avec le diabète le danger peut devenr réalité beaucoup plus rapidement.

Pour ceratins, il semble y avoir un lien entre le diabète et les troubles alimentaires, augmentant ainsi les riques d'effets nocifs sérieux et à long terme. La stricte focalisation sur la prise alimentaire et le régime chez les diabétiques; le besoin de supervision parentale chez les jeunes diabétiques et la prise de poids que peut causer l'insuline peuvent jouer des rôles dans le risque de déveloper une Anorexie et/ou Boulimie.

Un niveau de sucre difficilement contrôlable dans le sang d'un patient atteint de diabète peut être un facteur indicant au docteur que cette personne souffre églement de troubles de l'alimentation. Il a été prouvé récemment que les patients qui souffrent de diabète combinè à des troubles alimentaires sont plus sujets à developper Une Retinopathie Diabetique (une maladie de l'oeil qui provoque la rupture de vaisseaux sanguins à l'arrière de l'oeil) qui peut mener à la cécité.

Susan M. Julien, (Editeur de la Newsletter, The turning point, West Michigan, Chapitre sur la fondation du diabète juvenil) informe des signes d'alerte pour des troubles alimentaires chez des diabétiques: (© 1997 WordWise)

Anorexie: refus de maintenir un poids égal ou supérieur au poids minimal normal en fonction de la taille, de l'âge et du type d'ossature. Diminuer ou supprimer l'insuline en vue de perdre du poids ou de ne pas en prendre. Peur inconditionelle de grossir; image corporelle fausée; habitudes alimentaires anomales comme le jeûne, un nouveau régime ou le refus de manger en présence des autres; Amenorrhée (arrêt de règles) ; préoccupation à propos de la nourriture, du poids et de l'image corporelle; sentiments d'isolement, irritabilité, dépression.

Boulimie: répétés de crises d'hyperphagie et de purge (vomissements, abus de laxatifs ou de diurétiques, exercice excessif); apparence d'un mangeur "normal" en présence des autres, préoccupation excessive du poids et de l'aspect corporel, deni de l'excès de sucre dans le sang du aux crises d'hyperphagie; sentiment d'isolement , irritabilité et dépression.

Malgré le fait que les hommes soient moins atteints par des troubles alimentaires, il est important de rappeler qu'une étude récente suggère le fait que les hommes atteints de diabète seraient plus sujets à l'ostéoporose (perte de masse osseuse). La combination du diabète et des troubles alimentaires suggèrerait donc un risque accru d'ostéoporose.

Outre le fait que le diabète puisse être un facteur déclanchant pour les troubles alimenatires, le contraire peut aussi être vrai. "18% des diabètiques sont considerés obèses lors du diagnostique, faisant de l'obésité une des facteurs de risque les plus gérable pour le diabète. (Meical Tribune News Service, 1997). Etre en surpoids important augmente les risques d'attaques cardiaques et de diabète, ainsi les Hyperphages compulsifs se trouvent dans cette catégorie sujette aux deux dangers. Les deux facteurs plus communs pour l'apparition du diabète de l'adulte (type II) sont l'obésité et l'hérédité.

En conclusion, le fait de souffrir de diabète et en même temps d'un trouble alimentaire pout être potentiellement mortel ou causer des complications chroniques. Si non soignè, le diabète peut conduire à une insuffisance cardiaque, hépatique, cécité, décès, alors que le trouble alimentaire augmente les risques de attaque cardiaque, d'insufisance rénale (et beaucoup d'autres choses) y inclus la mort. La constatation évidente que la combinaison de diabète et de troubles alimentaires est particulièrement propice à de nombreux dangers allant jusqu'au décès.

Lien: Diabetes-and-Stuff Communauté (OneList)
Ceci est une communauté en ligne pour les gens qui ont le diabète
et anorexia, bulimia, overeating obligatoire


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception ::
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire ::
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias ::
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning
 
Eating Disorders & Diabetes

While an Eating Disorder alone can be extremely dangerous, when combined with Diabetes that danger can become a reality much more quickly.

For some, there seems to be a common thread between Diabetes and Eating Disorders, increasing their risks for serious adverse and long term effects. The strict focus on nutritional intake and diet with Diabetics, the need for parental control over the young Diabetic's life, and the increased weight gain that insulin treatment can cause, may all play roles in the increased risk for onset of Anorexia and/or Bulimia.

A hard to control blood sugar level in a patient with Diabetes may be an indication to doctors that the person also suffers an Eating Disorder. It was recently reported that Diabetics with Eating Disorders are at an increased risk for developing Diabetic Retinopathy (an eye disorder that causes broken blood vessels in the back of the eye) that can lead to blindness.

Susan M. Julien, (Newsletter Editor, The Turning Point, West Michigan Chapter of Juvenile Diabetes Foundation) submitting the following warning signs for Eating Disorder in Diabetics: (© 1997 WordWise)

Anorexia: Refusal to maintain weight at or above the minimal normal weight for height, body frame and age; Lowering or skipping Insulin doses in order to lose weight or maintain weight; Overwhelming fear of becoming fat; Distorted body image; Unusual eating patterns such as fasting, new diet or refusing to eat with others; Amenorrhea (loss of menstrual cycle); preoccupation with food, weight and body image; feelings of isolation, irritability and depression.

Bulimia: Repeated episodes of binging and purging (vomiting, laxative or diuretic abuse, excessive exercise); the appearance of being a "normal" eater around others; extreme concerns over body weight and shape; denial of high blood glucose due to binging; feelings of isolation, irritability and depression.

Though men make up the smaller percentage of those with Eating Disorders, in should be important to note that a recent study suggested that men with diabetes are at an increased risk for Osteoporosis (the loss of bone mass). The combination of an Eating Disorder and Diabetes would suggest that the risk of boss loss is significantly increased.

In addition to Diabetes playing a role in the onset of an Eating Disorder, the reverse can be true as well. "Up to eighty percent of diabetics are considered medically obese when they are diagnosed, making obesity one of the most preventable underlying risk factors for Diabetes." (Medical Tribune News Service, 1997) Being significantly overweight can increase the risk of heart disease and Diabetes, so Compulsive Overeaters would potentially fall into this category and be in elevated danger of both. The two most common risk factors for adult-onset Diabetes, Type II, are obesity and family history.

In conclusion, both having Diabetes or an Eating Disorder can potentially be life threatening and cause life-long complications and ailments. If left untreated, Diabetes can lead to heart failure, kidney failure, blindness or death, while having an Eating Disorder increases the risks for heart attack, stroke, kidney failure (and many other things), including death. The obvious assumption can be drawn that the combination of both and Eating Disorder and Diabetes is particularly dangerous and life-threatening.


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Mental Health :: Voices :: Perception ::
Mind & Body :: Symptoms :: Questionnaire ::
Misconceptions :: Diabetes :: Phobias ::
Genetics and Biology :: WWW.Warning ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy