(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Dangers :: Deficiencies :: Substitutes
Pregnancy :: Medic Alert :: Methods
Heart Attack & Stroke
 
Risques Physiques

Il y a de nombreuses personnes souffrant d'un trouble du comportement alimentaire qui n'affichent pas un poids spécifique. Il y a des anorexiques légèrement en surpoids, des hyperphages compulsifs lègerment en sous-poids. Les variations de poids des victimes vont de la maigreur squelettique à l'obésité morbide, en passant par tous les poids compris entre celles-ci. L'apparence physique externe de quelqun souffrant d'en TCA n'indique PAS le degré de danger dans lequel ils se trouve, ni n'indique le conflit interne qui l' anime. Il ne doit pas présenter tous les symptômes ci-dessous mentionnés pour être en danger.

Comportements associés à un trouble du comportment alimentaire

Jeûne ou restriction de nourriture, calcul des calories et / ou de grammes de graisse, vomissement auto-induit, laxatifs, diurétiques, exercice compulsif avec ou sans prise alimentaire.
Voir aussi les définitions de: Anorexie | boulimie | hyperphagie compulsive

Crises et purge - prise alimentaire anormalement importante suivie par le vomissement auto-induit, prise de laxatifs et / ou de diurétiques, exercice compulsif et / ou périodes de jeûne.
Voir aussi les définitions de: Anorexie | boulimie | hyperphagie compulsive

Crise - prise alimentaire anormalement importante, incontrôlable.
Voir aussi les définitions de: Anorexie | boulimie | hyperphagie compulsive


TOUS les troubles du comportement alimentaire sont dangereux

Il est important de comprendre que mˆme si la personne souffre de façon spécifique d'anorexie, de boulimie ou d'hyperphagie compulsive, il n'est pas rare que cette personne affiche des comportements propres aux trois troubles. Il n'est pas rare non plus de passer d'un trouble d'un comportement alimentaire à un autre (par exemple, une personne souffrant d'anorexie devient boulimique, ou un hyperphage compulsif devient anorexique). C'est pour cela qu'il est important d'être conscient des dangers ci dessous mentionnés sans tenir compte de quel TCA spécifique la personne souffre.

NE PENSEZ PAS QUE SI VOUS AVEZ TEL OU TEL COMPORTEMENT "UNE OU DEUX FOIS PAR MOIS" VOUS ÊTEZ À L'ABRI DE CE RISQUE.CELA NE SIGNIFIE PAS QUE VOUS N'ÊTEZ PAS EN DANGER, CELA NE SIGNIFIE PAS QUE VOUS NE SOUFFREZ PAS D'UN TROUBLE DU COMPORTEMENT ALIMENTAIRE (VOIR QUESTIONS À CONSIDÉRER)


Dangers associés à un trouble du comportement alimentaire

Malnutrition - Causée par la sous- ou suralimentation. Le mot malnutrition désigne un manque d'énergie, de protéines et de micronutriments (ex Vitamine A, iode et fer) soit seuls ou en combinaison. Cette carence peut avoir des effets sevères sur la santé comme (et ce ne sont pas les seuls) des infections respiratoires, des déficiences rénales, cécité, attaque cardiaque et mort
Links:
NutriQuest -- Body of Evidence

Déshydratation - Causée par la perte ou le manque d'ingestion de fluides dans le corps. La restriction / le jeûne, le vomissement et l'abus de laxatifs sont les principales causes chez les victimes de troubles du comportement alimentaire. Les symptômes incluent des étourdissements, de la faiblesse ou des urines foncées. Elle peut mener à la déficience rénale, l'attaque cardiaque et la mort
Links:
Déshydratation
Déshydratation

Déséquilibre des electrolytes - les electrolytes sont essentiels pour la production ne "l'electricité naturelle" du corps qui régule la santé dentaire, des articulations et des os, des nerfs et des muscles, des reins et du coeur, du taux de sucre dans le sang et l'achemeninement de l'oxygène dans le sang
Links:
Minéraux qui composent les electrolytes

Carences en vitamines et minéraux

Lanugo - (duvet sur le visage, le dos et les bras). Il est causé par un méchanisme de protection ancestral du corps afin de maintenir la chaleur corporelle en périodes de malnutrition et de famine et des dysfonctionnemnt hormonaux qui en résultent

Oedème - gonflement des tissus mous du à une accumulation d'eau. Ce phénomène est commun au niveau des jambes et des pieds chez les personnes atteintes d'hyperphagie compulsive et dans la région abdominale ches les personnes atteintes d'anorexie et/ou de boulimie (peut être causé par l'abus de laxatifs et de diurétiques).

Atrophie musculaire - dégénérescence des tissus musculaires et réduction de la masse musculaire due au faut que le corps se nourrit de ses propres tissus
Atteinte de la Fonction neuromusculaire - due aux carences en vitamines et minéraux (spécialement le potassium), et la malnutrition

Déchirure de l'oesophage - causée par le vomissment auto-induit
Déchirure de Mallory-Weiss - associées au vomissement, c'est la déchirure de la jonction gosto-oesophagienne
Rupture gastrique - érosion, perforation ou rupture spontanée de l'estomac

Reflux oesophagique - Troubles du reflux acide - les aliments partiellement digérés, mélangés aux acides et aux enzymes de l'estomac, sont régurgités dans l'oesophage. Ceci peut endommager l'oesophage, le larynx et les poumons. Les risques de développement de cancer de l'oesophage et des cordes vocales est augmenté.
Le reflux peut parfois empurer au point que plus aucun aliment ne peut être gardé. Une visite médicale est alors impérative
L'oesophage de Barrett - Associé au cancer de l'oesophage causé par le reflux oesophagique
Links:
Reflux gastrique

Cancer - de la gorge et des cordes vocales (Larynx) du reflux acide gastrique
Links:
Cancer du laynx

Insomnie - problèmes pour s'endormir et / ou rester endormi
Syndrome de fatigue chronique - Fatique chronique et invalidante due à la faibless du système immunitaire
Links:
Association CFIDS
Hyperactivité - incapacité a rester tranquille

Gonflement - du visage et des joues (suite aux vomissements)
Links:
Boulimie et hygiène dentaire

Callosité ou blessures aux doigts - causées par l'introduction répétée des doigts dans la bouche pour se faire vomir

Peau et cheveux secs, cheveux et ongles cassants, chute de cheveux - causés par des carences en vitamines et minéraux malnutrition et déshydratation

Basse pression sanguine, hypotension (plus fréquent chez les victimes d'anorexie et boulimie) causée par la baisse de la température corporelle, malnutrition et déshydratation. Peut causer des arythmies cardiaques, des infarctus du myocarde
Links:
Dangers de la pression sanguine trop basse
Hypotension Orthostatique - Chute soudaine de la pression sanguine quand on se lève ou on se couche Les symptômes incluent des vertiges, vision troublée, évanouissemnt, palpitations cardiaques et maux de tête
Links:
Hypotension othostatique

Haute pression, hypertension (plus fréquent chez les victimes d'hyperphagie) Tension élevée au dessus de 140/90. Peut causer: anomalies des vaisseaux sanguins oculaires créant une trouble de la vision, grossissement anormal du muscle cardiaque, défaillance rénale et dommage cérébral.
Links:
Hypertension

Nombre trop bas de plaquettes ou Thrombocytopenie -
causée par des manques de vitamine B12 et acide folique ou par l'usage excessif d'alcool. C'est aussi une indication de système immunitaire déficient

Rupture des niveaux de taux de sucre dans le sang -
Pas assez de sucre dans le sang / hypoglycémie: peut indiquer de problèmes avec le foie ou les reins et peut mener à une déterioration neurologique et mentale
Links:
Hypoglycémie réactive
Trop de sucre dans le sang / Hyperglycémie peut mener au diabète, au blocage rénal et hépatique, à des problèmes dans les systèmes immunitaires et circulatoires.

Diabète - trop de sucre dans le sang en résultant d'une production insuffisante d'insuline. Peut être causé par des désequilibres hormonaux, de l'hyperglycémie, ou une pancréatite chronique

Ketoacidose - Hauts niveaux d'acides dans le sang (ketones) causées par la combution des graisses par l'organisme (au lieu des sucres et des hydrates de carbone) pour fournir de l'energie. Peut resulter du jeûne, de purges répetées, de la deshydratation, de l'hypoglycemie et / ou de 'abus d'alcool. (peut aussi résulter d'un diabète non contrôlé). Peut conduire au coma et à la mort.

Déficience en fer, anémie - empêche le transport de l'oxygène dans le sang et peut mener à de la fatique, essoufflement, infections accrues et palpitations cardiaques
Links:
Anémie
Anémie

Infection et insuffisance rénale - vos reins "nettoyent" les toxines de votre corps, régule la concentration d'acide et balancent l'hydratation. Les carences en vitamines, la déshydratation, l'infection et la basse tension sanguine augmentent les risques d'infection rénale et peuvent causer des dommages irréversibles

Ostéoporose - reduction des os par diminution de la masse osseuse due à la perte de calcium et des protéines osseuses, prédisposant à des fractures
Ostéoponie - masse osseuse en dessous de la moyenne indicant une carence en calcium et/ou vitamine D conduisant à l'ostéoporose.
* Les carences / désequilibres hormonaux associés avec la perte du cycle menstruel peuvent aussi accroître le risque d'ostéoporose et d'ostéoponie
Links:
Ostéoporose et troubles osseux associés
Les TCA affaiblissent les os de hommes

Arthrite (dégénérative) - peut être causée par les déséquilibres hormonaux et des carences en vitamines ainsi que par des stress accrus au niveau des articulations chez les personnes souffrant d'hyperphagie compulsive
Links:
L'ostéoarthrite et vous

Syndrôme de l'articulation tempero-mandibulaire et problèmes liés à l'atm - arthrite dégénérative à l'intérieur de l'articulation mandibulaire de la mâchoire (là où la mâchoire inférieure est reliée au reste du crâne) provocant des douleurs, des maux de tête, des problèmes de mastication et de ouverture / fermeture de la bouche. Des carences en vitamines et des grincements de dents (souvent liés au stress) peuvent en être les causes.
Links:
Maux de dents et syndrôme ATM
L'association ATM

Amenorrhée - perte du cycle menstruel (due au manque de secrétion de l'homone oestrogène par les ovaries) La perte de cycle peut aussi mlener à l'ostéoporose et à l'ostéoponie
Links:
Amenorrhée secondaire

Hématomes - des carences en vitamines qui amoindrissent la capacité du corps à se réparer lui-même, la pression sanguine basse et une grande perte de poids peuvent mener à ces que la personne ait souvent des "bleus" qui peuvent mettre longtemps à guérir.

Problèmes dentaires, décalcification des dents, érosion de l'émail dentaire, caries, gingivite - ceci est causé par les acides et les enzymes de l'estomac (via le vomissement), par res carences de vitamine D et de Calcium, et par des désequilibres hormonaux. Peut aussi être du au manque d'exercice de mastication de certains aliments. Des problèmes dentaires peuvent parfois indiquer la présence de problèmes cardiaques.
Links:
Maux de dents et ATM

Blocage hépatique - le rôle du foie est de purifier les cellules et d'aider à la digestion. On ne peut pas vivre sans foie. Le jeûne et les pilules à base de acetominophe (analgésiques vendus sans ordonnance) augmentent le risque d'insuffisance et de blocage hépatique. La perte du cycle menstruel, la déshydratation (les femmes risquent une trop grande concentration de fer dans le sang) et une insuffisance cardiaque chronique peuvent mener à l'insuffisance et au blocage hépatique.

Mauvaise circulation, pouls irrégulier ou ralenti, arythmies, angines, attaques cardiaques - Il y a de nombreux facteurs associés avec les comportements de troubles alimentaires qui peuvent mener à des alertes ou à des attaques cardiaques. Un arrêt cardiaque soudain put mener à des dommages irréversibles au coeur... ou à une mort instantanée. Des désequilibre des electrolytes (spécialement la carence en potassium), la déshydratation, la malnutrition, la tension basse, l'hypotension orthostatique extrême, le pouls anormalement lent, les désequilibres des electrolytes, des désequilibres hormonaux: tous posent de sérieux problèmes au coeur. La tension trop haute, l'accumulation de graisse autour du coeur, un haut taux de cholestérol, le manque d'exercice dû au manque de mobilité, le diabète et les désequilibres hormonaux peuvent aussi être de grands facteurs de risque pour le coeur.
Links:
Cardiaque Healthweb

Infertilité - c'est l'incapicité d'avoir des enfants. Causée par la perte du cycle menstruel et les désequilibres hormonaux. La malnutrition et les carences en vitamines peuvent aussi mettre en danger la possibilité de mener une grossesse à terme, et participent aussi à l'augmentation des risques de mettre au monde un enfant malformé.
Sydrôme de polycistite ovarienne - Une étude suggére la corrélation entre les TCA et la polycystite ovarienne, et que la guérison du TCA doit faire partie du traitement d'une PCO
Links:
Conseil international de l'infertilité

Problèmes durant la grossesse - incluant grossesse à haut risque, fausse couche, enfant mort-né et enfants nés avec des maladies chroniques, mineures ou sévères (tous ces risques sont dus à la déshydratation, et les carences en vitamines et hormonales).
Links:
TCA et grossesse

Depression - humeur changeante et depression peuvent être causés par des facteurs physiologiques comme le désequilibre des electrolytes, des carences en vitamines et hormonales, la malnutrition et la déshydratation. Vivre avec les comportements deu TCA ménera à la depression.
La depression peut aussi ramener la victime dans les cycle du TCA (ou peut avoir été initialement le problèmes qui a causé le TCA) Stress au sein de la famille, le travail ou le relations peuvent tous en être les causes. Il y a aussi un pourcentage de personnes nées avec une prédisposition à la depression, baséee sur une histoire famililale.
Peut mener au suicide
Voir aussi: associations et dépendances

Température corporelle basse - causée par la perte de la couche isolante de graisse et par la basse tension.

Crampes, ballonements, comstipation, diarrhéen incontinence - activité intestinale augmentée ou diminuée
Voir aussi: dangereuses méthodes

Ulcères peptiques - causés par des acides intestinaux, par la fumée de cigarettes et par l'abus de café ou d'alcool
Links:
Ulcères FAQ

Pancréatite - c'est lorsque les enzymes digestives attaquent le pancréas. Peut être causé par des traumatismes à l'estomac répétés (vomir), l'abus d'alcool et l'abus de laxatifs ou diurétiques.
Links:
Pancréatite

Difficultés digestives - une carence en enzymes digestives mène le corps à devenir incapable de digérer et d'absorber les nutriments. Ceci peut mener à des problèmes de mauvaise absorbtion, de malnutrition et de désequilibre des electrolytes
Links:
DigestInfo.com

Faiblesse et Fatigue - causées par des habitudes alimentaires anarchiques, des désequilibres des electrolytes, des carences en vitamines et en minéraux, la depression, la malnutrition, des problèmes cardiaques

Convulsions - le risque accru de convulsion ches les anorexiques et les boulimiques est lié à la déshydratation. Il est aussi possible que des lésions cérebrales causées par une malnutrition de long terme et un manque d'oxygénation du cerveau puissent jouer un rôle.
Links:
Anorexie et convulsions

Mort causé par ce qui suit, soit seul soit en combinaison: attaque cardiaque ou insuffisance cardiaque, insuffisance pulmonaire, hémorragie interne, infarctus, blocage rénal, blocage hépatique, pancréatite, rupture gastrique, perforation d'ulcère, depression et suicide.
Links:
In Loving Memory

Please Also See signes et symptômes

[Merci à Sabrina de la traduction]


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

Dangers :: Deficiencies :: Substitutes ::
:: Pregnancy :: Medic Alert :: Methods ::
:: Heart Attack & Stroke ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Dangers :: Deficiencies :: Substitutes
Pregnancy :: Medic Alert :: Methods
Heart Attack & Stroke
 
Physical Dangers and Effects that come with Eating Disorders

There are many men and women suffering with all types of Eating Disorders that do not appear in any specific weight range. Those with Eating Disorders such as Anorexia can be slightly overweight... while those with Compulsive Eating can be slightly underweight. Variations for all who suffer can be anywhere from extremely underweight to extremely overweight to anywhere in between. The outward appearance of anyone with an Eating Disorder does NOT dictate the amount of physical danger they are in, nor does is determine the emotional conflict they feel inside. They need not display even close to all of the below symptoms to be in danger.

Behaviors Associated with Eating Disorders

Starvation and restriction of food, calories and/or fat grams sometimes accompanied by self-induced vomiting, laxatives, diuretics and obsessive exercise with any food intake, or without food intake at all.
also see definitions of: Anorexia | Bulimia | Compulsive Overeating

Binge and Purge episodes - abnormally large intake of food followed by self-induced vomiting, intake of laxatives or diuretics, obsessive exercise and/or periods of starvation.
also see definitions of: Anorexia | Bulimia | Compulsive Overeating

Overeating. Binge Episodes - abnormally large, uncontrollable intake of food.
also see definitions of: Anorexia | Bulimia | Compulsive Overeating



ALL Eating Disorders are Dangerous

It is important to understand that even though a person may be suffering specifically with Anorexia, Bulimia or Compulsive Overeating, or Bulimia Eating Disorders, it is not uncommon for them to exhibit behaviors from each of the three. It is also not uncommon for one Eating Disorder to be swapped for another (Example: a person who is suffering with Anorexia switches to Bulimia; a persons suffering with Compulsive Overeating switches to Anorexia). This is why it is important to be aware of THE DANGERS BELOW, all of which are risks no matter what Eating Disorder you suffer with.

DO NOT FALL INTO THE TRAP OF THINKING "I ONLY DO THIS A FEW TIMES A MONTH SO I CAN'T BE AT RISK" OR "I DON'T DO THIS ALL THE TIME, I JUST GO THROUGH HEALTHY AND NON-HEALTHY CYCLES" -- THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU ARE NOT IN DANGER, NOR DOES IT MEAN YOU DO NOT SUFFER FROM AN EATING DISORDER (SEE QUESTIONS TO CONSIDER)


Dangers Associated with and Diseases Triggered or Caused by Eating Disorder Behaviors

Malnutrition - caused by undereating or overeating. The word malnutrition indicates deficiency for energy, protein and micronutrients (e.g. vitamin A, iodine and iron) either singularly or in combination. It can cause severe health risks including (but not limited to) respiratory infections, kidney failure, blindness, heart attack and death.
Links:
NutriQuest -- Body of Evidence
Malnutrition Defined

Dehydration - caused by the depletion or lack of intake of fluids in the body, or by restriction of carbohydrates and fat. Restriction/Starvation, vomiting and laxative abuse are the primary causes in sufferers of Eating Disorders. Symptoms include dizziness, weakness, or darkening of urine. It can lead to kidney failure, heart failure, seizures, brain damage and death.
Links:
Dehydration
Dehydration Defined

Electrolyte Imbalances - electrolyte are essential to the production of the body's "natural electricity" that ensures healthy teeth, joints and bones, nerve and muscle impulses, kidneys and heart, blood sugar levels and the delivery of oxygen to the cells.
Links:
The Minerals That Make Up Electrolytes

Hyponatremia (related to "water-loading") - as stated above, electrolytes are essential to proper body functioning. Drinking too much water (more than eight, eight-ounce glasses in less than twelve hours), can cause Hyponatremia (not enough sodium in the blood), especially in someone already malnourished or dehydrated. Hyponatremia can cause fluid in the lungs, the brain to swell, nausea, vomiting, confusion and even death.

Refeeding Syndrome (related to treatment) - Starved or severely malnourished patients can undergo life-threatening fluid and electrolyte shifts following the initiation of aggressive nutritional support therapies. This phenomenon is known as "refeeding syndrome" and can occur in patients receiving either enteral (tube feeding) or parenteral (intravenous feeding) nutritional support. To avoid the development of the refeeding syndrome, nutrition support in patients at risk should be increased slowly while assuring adequate amounts of vitamins and minerals. Organ function, fluid balance and serum electrolytes (especially phosphorus, potassium and magnesium) need to be monitored daily during the first week and less often thereafter.
Links:
Refeeding Syndrome
Monitoring Nutrition Therapy

Vitamin and Mineral Deficiencies

Lanugo - (soft downy hair on face, back and arms). This is caused due to a protective mechanism built-in to the body to help keep a person warm during periods of starvation and malnutrition, and the hormonal imbalances that result.

Edema - swelling of the soft tissues as a result of excess water accumulation. It is most common in the legs and feet of Compulsive Overeaters and in the abdominal area of Anorexics and/or Bulimics (can be caused by Laxative and Diuretic use).

Muscle Atrophy - wasting away of muscle and decrease in muscle mass due to the body feeding off of itself.
Impaired Neuromuscular Function - due to vitamin and mineral deficiencies (specifically potassium), and malnutrition.
Links:
Muscle Atrophy Defined

Paralysis - transient (or temporary) paralysis -- extreme weakness of muscles or not being able to move at all -- Caused by low levels of potassium, and/or the degeneration of nerve cells, in the spinal cord or in the brain, which have been deprived of essential nutrients. Left untreated, periods of paralysis may happen more frequently and more severely, lead to permanent muscle weakness, and even result in death.

Tearing of Esophagus - caused by self-induced vomiting
Mallory-Weiss tear - associate with vomiting, a tear of the gastroesophageal junction
Gastric Rupture - spontaneous stomach erosion, perforation or rupture.
Gastrointestinal Bleeding - bleeding into the digestive tract.
Links:
Gastrointestinal Bleeding Information

Esophageal Reflux - Acid Reflux Disorders - partially digested items in the stomach, mixed with acid and enzymes, regurgitates back into the esophagus. This can lead to damage to the esophagus, larynx and lungs and increases the chances of developing cancer of the esophagus and voice box.
Reflux can sometimes become severe enough that food cannot be kept down at all and medical attention should be sought immediately.
Barrett's Esophagus - associated with Cancer of the esophagus and caused by Esophageal Reflux, this is a change in the cells within the esophagus.
Links:
Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease
Barrett's esophagus

Cancer - of the throat and voice box (Larynx) due to acid reflux disorders.
Links:
Cancer of the Larynx

Insomnia - having problems falling and/or staying asleep.
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome - continuous and crippling fatigue related to a weakened immune system.
Links:
The CFIDS Association
Hyperactivity - manic bouts of not being able to sit still.

Swelling - in face and cheeks (following self-induced vomiting).

Callused or bruised fingers - this is caused by repeatedly using the fingers to induce vomiting.

Dry Skin and Hair, Brittle Hair and Nails, Hair Loss - cause by Vitamin and Mineral deficiencies, malnutrition and dehydration.

Low Blood Pressure, Hypotension (more common in those with Anorexia and/or Bulimia) - cause by lowered body temperature, malnutrition and dehydration. Can cause heart arrhythmias, shock or myocardial infarction.
Links:
Low Blood Pressure
Orthostatic Hypotension - sudden drop in blood pressure upon sitting up or standing. Symptoms include dizziness, blurred vision, passing out, heart pounding and headaches.
Links:
Orthostatic Hypotension

High Blood Pressure, Hypertension (more common in those with Compulsive Overeating and/or Binge Eating Disorder) - elevated blood pressure exceeding 140 over 90. Can cause: blood vessel changes in the back of the eye creating vision impairment; abnormal thickening of the heart muscle; kidney failure; and brain damage.
Links:
Hypertension

Low Platelet Count or Thrombocytopenia -
Caused by low levels of vitamin B12 and Folic Acid, and/or by excessive alcohol. It may also be an indication of a suppressed immune system or immune dysfunction.
Links:
Thrombocytopenia

Disruptions in Blood Sugar Levels -
Low Blood Sugar/Hypoglycemia: can indicate problems with the liver or kidneys and can lead to neurological and mental deterioration.
Links:
Reactive Hypoglycemia Homepage
Elevated Blood Sugar/Hyperglycemia - can lead to diabetes, liver and kidney shut down, circulatory and immune system problems.

Diabetes - high blood sugar as a result of low production of insulin. This can be caused by hormonal imbalances, hyperglycemia, or chronic pancreatitis.
Links:
Eating Disorders and Diabetes

Ketoacidosis - high levels of acids that build up in the blood (known as ketones) caused by the body burning fat (instead of sugar and carbohydrates) to get energy. It can be a result of starvation, excessive purging, dehydration, hyperglycemia and/or alcohol abuse (it can also be a result of uncontrolled or untreated diabetes). It can lead to coma and death.
Links:
Diabetic ketoacidosis
Alcohol Ketoacidosis
*You do not need to be diabetic or alcoholic to end up with Ketoacidosis!

Iron Deficiency, Anemia - this makes the oxygen transporting units within the blood useless and can lead to fatigue, shortness of breath, increased infections, and heart palpitations.
Links:
Anemia
Anemia

Kidney Infection and Failure - your kidneys "clean" the poisons from your body, regulate acid concentration and maintain water balance. Vitamin Deficiencies, dehydration, infection and low blood pressure increase the risks of and associated with kidney infection thus making permanent kidney damage and kidney failure more likely.

Osteoporosis - Thinning of the bones with reduction in bone mass due to depletion of calcium and bone protein, predisposing to fractures.
Osteopenia - Below normal bone mass indicating a calcium and/or vitamin D deficiency and leading to Osteoporosis.
* Hormone imbalance/deficiencies associated with the loss of the menstrual cycle can also increase your risks of Osteoporosis and Osteopenia.

Arthritis (degenerative) - can be caused by hormonal imbalances and vitamin deficiencies as well as increased stress on the joints in individuals who suffering Compulsive Overeating.

TMJ "Syndrome" and Related TMJ Problems - degenerative arthritis within the tempero-mandibular joint in the jaw (where the lower jaw hinges to the skull) creating pain in the joint area, headaches, and problems chewing and opening/closing the mouth. Vitamin deficiencies and teeth grinding (often related to stress) can both be causes.
Links:
Toothaches and TMJ Syndrome
The TMJ Association

Amenorrhea - Loss of Menstrual Cycle (due to lack of secreting hormone, Oestrogen, by the ovaries). Loss of the menstrual cycle can also lead to Osteopenia and Osteoporosis.
Links:
Secondary Amenorrhea

Easily Bruising Skin - Vitamin Deficiencies that decrease the body's ability to heal itself, low blood pressure, low platelets count and/or extreme weight loss will all lead to easily bruised skin that can take a long time to heal.

Dental Problems, Decalcification of teeth, erosion of tooth enamel, severe decay, Gum Disease - will be caused by stomach acids and enzymes (from vomiting); vitamin D and calcium deficiencies, and hormonal imbalance. Can also be due to the lack of exercise the teeth can get from the process of eating certain foods. Dental problems can sometime indicate problems with the heart.
Links:
Toothaches and TMJ Syndrome
Dental Erosion

Liver Failure - the liver aids in removing waste from cells, and aids in digestion. You cannot live without your Liver. Fasting and taking acetaminophen (drug found in over-the-counter pain killers) increases your risks for Liver damage and failure. Loss of menstruation and dehydration (putting women at risk for too much iron in their system), and chronic heart failure can lead to liver damage or failure.

Bad Circulation, Slowed or Irregular Heartbeat, Arrhythmias, Angina, Heart Attack - There are many factors associated with having an Eating Disorder that can lead to heart problems or a heart attack. Sudden cardiac arrest can cause permanent damage to the heart, or instant death...
electrolyte imbalances (especially potassium deficiency), dehydration, malnutrition, low blood pressure, extreme orthostatic hypotension, abnormally slow heart rate, electrolyte imbalances, and hormonal imbalances can all cause serious problems with the heart, high blood pressure, accumulation of fat deposits around the heart muscle, high cholesterol, decreased exercise due to lack of mobility, diabetes and hormonal imbalances can all lead to serious problems with the heart.

Infertility - the inability to have children. Caused by loss of menstrual cycle, and hormonal imbalances. Malnutrition and vitamin deficiencies can also make it impossible to succeed with a full-term pregnancy, and can increase the chances significantly of a baby born with birth defects.
Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome - a study a few years ago suggested that people with Eating Disorders were at an increased risk for developing Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCO), and that recovery from the Eating Disorder should be part of treatment for PCO.
Links:
International Council on Infertility

Problems during pregnancy - including potential for high risk pregnancies, miscarriage, still born babies and death or chronic illness from minor to severe, in children born (all due to malnutrition, dehydration, vitamin and hormone deficiencies).
Links:
Eating Disorders and Pregnancy

Depression - mood swings and depression can be cause by physiological factors such as electrolyte imbalances, hormone and vitamin deficiencies, malnutrition and dehydration. Living with the Eating Disorder behaviors themselves will cause depression.
Depression can also lead the sufferer back into the cycle of the Eating Disorder (or may have initially been the problem before the onset of the ED). Stress within family, job and relationships can all be causes. There are also a percentage of people born with a pre-disposition to depression, based on family history.
Can lead to Suicide
Also see: Associations and Addictions

Lowered body temperature - Temperature Sensitivity - caused by loss of healthy insulating layer of fat and lowered blood pressure.

Cramps, bloating, constipation, diarrhea, incontinence - increased or decreased bowel activity.
Also see: dangerous methods

Peptic Ulcers - aggravated or made more severe by increased stomach acids, cigarette smoking, high consumption of caffeine or alcohol
Links:
Peptic Ulcer Info

Pancreatitis - this is when the digestive enzymes attack the pancreas. It can be caused by repeated stomach trauma (such as with vomiting), alcohol consumption or the excessive use of laxatives or diet pills.
Links:
Pancreatitis

Digestive Difficulties - a deficiency in digestive enzymes will lead to the bodies inability to properly digest food and absorb nutrients. This can lead to malabsorption problems, malnutrition and electrolyte imbalances. Diseases that may be triggered by a history of an Eating Disorder include: Celiac Disease (gluten sensitivity), and Crohn's Disease
Links:
Celiac.com
The Connection
Gastrointestinal Disorder
DigestInfo.com

Weakness and Fatigue - caused by generalized poor eating habits, electrolyte imbalances, vitamin and mineral deficiencies, depression, malnutrition, heart problems.

Seizures - the increased risk of seizures in Anorexic and Bulimic individuals may be caused by dehydration, hyperglycemia or ketoacidosis. It is also possible that lesions on the brain caused by long-term malnutrition and lack of oxygen-carrying cells to the brain may play a role. SOME type of antidepressants can increase the risk of seizure and usually carry a warning against prescribing them to people with Eating Disorders, unless the benefits significantly outweigh the risks.
Death caused by any of the following or any combination of the following: heart attack or heart failure; lung collapse; internal bleeding, stroke, kidney failure, liver failure; pancreatitis, gastric rupture, perforated ulcer, depression and suicide.
Links:
In Loving Memory

Please Also See Signs and Symptoms


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

Dangers :: Deficiencies :: Substitutes ::
:: Pregnancy :: Medic Alert :: Methods ::
:: Heart Attack & Stroke ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy