(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Issues for Men :: Cultural Roles :: The Media
Ballet Dancers :: In The Old Days
 
Problèmes liés aux troubles alimentaires chez les hommes

Chez toutes les victimes de troubles alimentaires, la présence inhérente d'une faible estime de soi est l'élèment le plus commun qui les caractérise.

D'après les estimations, 8 millions de personnes aux USA souffrent d'un trouble alimentaire, et de ce nombre 10% sont des hommes. Personnellement, je crois que le pourcentage d'hommes souffrant de troubles alimentaires soit de loin supérieur, mais à cause des idées préconçues que cette maladie ne touche que les femmes, peu d'hommes s'avancent à demander l'iaide qu'ils méritent.

Depuis sa création, ce site a toujours eu pour but de s'occuper des troubles alimentaire de tous, mais il y a des problèmes spécifiques à la communnauté masculine souffrant de troubles alimentaires. Comme pour toutes les victimes, il y a toujours ce sentiment de honte à être la victime d'un trouble alimentaire ("je suis dégoûtant", "regarde ce que je me fais à moi-même", "les gens vont penser que je suis fou", etc.) mais pour les hommes confront´s à la vieille conception qu'il ne peuvent pas souffrir de troubles alimentaires, la honte à laquelle ils doivent faire face est souvent pire.

D'après Arnold Andersen et les recherches qu'il a menées pour son livre Les troubles alimentaires chez l'homme, il ressort que les femmes qui développent des troubles alimentaires se sentent grosses avant le début des comportements alimentaires troublés et sont habituellement de poids moyen. Les sommes sont le plus souvent médicalement en surpoids avant de développer le trouble. De plus, les hommes qui souffrent d'hyperphagie compulsionelle ou de frénésie alimentaire (Binge eating disorder) sont moins souvent diagnostiqués vu que la société est plus encline à accepter un homme hyperphage et/ou en surpoids qu'une femme hyperphage et/ou en surpoids.

Malgré qu'il soit plus commun de voir des hommes homosexuels souffrir de troubles comme l'anorexie ou la boulimie (ceci étant du à la tendance dans la communnauté gay d'accentuer l'importance du succés et de l'apparance), il y a aussi beaucoup d'hétérosexuels qui en souffrent. Ceci enforce le sentiment de honte qu'a un homme hétérosexuel victime de troubles alimentaires : il peut avoir peur que les gens vont penser qu'il est gay. La honte chez les hétérosexuels comme chez les homosexuels peut aussi venir du fait que ces maladies sont considérées comme étant des "problèmes de femme". J'ai souvent reçu des E-mails de la part d'hommes qui souffraient en silence pour l'une de ces deux raisons.

En outre, ils peuvent garder le silence sur leur condition à cause du manque de groupes de thérapie et de centres de traitement offrant des thérapies spécialement conĉus pour les hommes. Ils peuvent se sentir très seuls à l'idée d'être dans un groupe de femmes, de faire partie d'un programme prévu pour les femmes, et même avoir peur qu'un traitement leur soit refusé à cause de leur sexe.

Les hommes qui paticipent à des sports où le poids a une importance, comme chez les jockeys, les lutteurs et les coureurs, on rencontre des risques accrus de développer un trouble alimentaire tels que l'anorexie ou la boulimie. La pression de réussir, d'être le meilleur, d'être compétitif et de gagner à tout prix combiné à des pressions qui ne sont pas d'ordre sportif (problèmes realtionnels, familiaux, abus, etc.) peuvent contribuer aux début de leur trouble alimentaire.

Il semble être plus commun pour les victimes de sexe masculin de souffrir simultanément d'alcoolisme et/ou d'usage de drogues (même si de nombreuses femmes souffrent de ces problèmes combinés avec un trouble alimentaire). Ceci peut être du à la nature de leur santé mentale qui est plus encline aux dépendances combiné au fait que la société est assez indulgente pr rapport à l'image de l'homme buvant plus que de raison. De plus, les hommes souffrant d'anorexie et de boulimie sont plus sensibles à l'anxieté sexuelle. Il peut également y avoir un lien chez les hommes entre les troubles de l'attention et de l'hyperactivité, l'anorexie, la boulimie et la violence auto-infligée. Des recherches plus approfondies devraient être faites dans ce domaine. Chez toutes les victimes, aussi bien chez les hommes que chez les femmes, on peut retrouver des maladies psychologiques co-existantes , comme la dépression, l'anxiété, le stress post traumatique, des comportements d'auto-violence et d'abus de substances, des troubles obsessifs-compusionnels, de personnalité borderline et de syndrôme de personnalité multiple.

La choses la plus important à retenir est que la plupart des facteurs psychologiques qui mènent au d´veloppement d'un trouble alimentaire sont les mêmes chez les hommes que chez les femmes. Une faible estime de soi, un besoin d'être accepté, dépression, anxiété ou maladies psychologiques existantes, inabilité à faire face aux émotions et aux problèmes personnels. Tous les dangers physiques et les complications accociés au fait d'être une victime de troubles alimenatires sont pareils. Un grand nombre de causes sont les mêmes ou très similaires (problèmes familiaux, relationnels, parents dépendants de l'alcool et/ou de drogues, abus, pression sociale). Avant tout, les victimes méritent de trouver la voie de la guérison ainsi que le bonheur et l'amour de soi de l'autre côté.

Lien: Discussion Forum for Men with Eating Disorders

Lien: Males and Eating Disorders

Lien: Anorexia in Males

[Merci à Sabrina de la traduction]


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Issues for Men :: Cultural Roles :: The Media ::
:: Ballet Dancers :: In The Old Days ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy

(877) 798-5431
Eating Disorders Anorexia Bulimia Compulsive Overeating at Something Fishy Website
Learn About:
Eating Disorders
Anorexia
Bulimia
Overeating
Binge Eating
something-fishy sitemap  


privacy policy
legal stuff
site updates
sitemap
CONTACT

IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS

Issues for Men :: Cultural Roles :: The Media
Ballet Dancers :: In The Old Days
 
Issues for Men with Eating Disorders

The most common element surrounding ALL Eating Disorders, including Eating Disorders in Males, is the inherent presence of a low self esteem

It is estimated that 8 million people in the United States are suffering from an Eating Disorder, and of that number 10% are men. Personally, I am guessing that the percentage suffering that are men is far higher, but because of the old fashioned idea that this illness strikes only women, few men come forward to find the help they deserve.

Right from its inception, this whole site has always been aimed at addressing Eating Disorders in everyone, but there are some issues that are specific to the male eating disorder community. As with all sufferers there has always been, and still is, an element of shame in being someone with an Eating Disorder ("I'm disgusting", "look at what I do to myself", "people will think I'm crazy", etc.), but for men and the old misconception that they cannot suffer from an Eating Disorder, the shame they face is often worse.

According to Arnold Andersen and the research he did for his book Males with Eating Disorders, while women who develop Eating Disorders feel fat before the onset of their disordered eating behaviors, typically they are near average weight. Men are more typically overweight medically before the development of the disorder. In addition, men who are binge eaters or compulsive overeaters may go undiagnosed more than women because of society's willingness to accept an overeating and/or overweight man more-so than an overeating or overweight woman.

Though it is more common for homosexual men to suffer from Eating Disorders such as Anorexia and Bulimia (because of the tendency in the male gay community to place a high level of importance on success and appearance), there are still many heterosexual men out there who suffer. This contributes back into the shameful feelings a heterosexual male sufferer has -- he may be afraid that people will think he is gay -- or that a homosexual and heterosexual male can feel -- that the illness is considered to be a "female's problem". I have often received e-mail from men who are suffering in silence because of these two issues.

In addition, there may often be shrouds of secrecy because of the lack of therapy groups and treatment centers offering groups specifically designed for men. They may feel very alone at the thought of having to sit in a group of women, to be part of a program designed for women, and even at the prospect that a treatment facility will turn them down because of their sex.

Men who participate in low-weight oriented sports such as jockeys, wrestlers and runners are at an increased risk of developing an Eating Disorder such as Anorexia or Bulimia. The pressure to succeed, to be the best, to be competitive and to win at all costs, combined with any non-athletic pressures in their lives (relationship issues, family problems, abuse, etc.) can help to contribute the onset of their disordered eating.

It is not uncommon for men suffering with an Eating Disorder to also suffer with alcoholism and/or drug abuse simultaneously (though many women also suffer both disordered eating and substance abuse problems combined). This may be due to the addictive nature of their psychological health combined with the strong images put out by society of men's overindulgence in alcohol. In addition, men suffering with Anorexia and Bulimia seem to have more sexual anxiety. There may also be a link between ADHD, Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder, with male sufferers of Anorexia and Bulimia and self-injury. More research needs to be done in this area. For all those who suffer, men and women, there are many possible co-existing psychological illnesses that can be present, including depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, self-injury behavior and substance abuse, obsessive compulsive disorder, and borderline personality disorder and multiple personality syndrome.

The most important thing, overall, to remember is that most of the underlying psychological factors that lead to an Eating Disorder are the same for both men and women. Low self-esteem, a need to be accepted, depression, anxiety or other existing psychological illness, and an inability to cope with emotions and personal issues. All of the physical dangers and complications associated with being the sufferer of an Eating Disorder are the same. A great number of the causes are the same or very similar (family problems, relationship issues, alcoholic/addictive parent, abuse, societal pressure). Most of all, all people with eating disorders deserve to find recovery and the happiness and self-love on the other side.

Link: Discussion Forum for Men with Eating Disorders

Link: Anorexia in Males


:: IN ENGLISH :: EN ESPAÑOL :: EN FRANÇAIS ::

:: Issues for Men :: Cultural Roles :: The Media ::
:: Ballet Dancers :: In The Old Days ::

back to top Back Home
Copyright ©1998-2014 The Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders: All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy